Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
Buy On
  1. Nov 26, 2018
    90
    Darksiders III is a stunning achievement, bringing the once-dead series back to life with aplomb.
  2. Nov 26, 2018
    87
    Darksiders III is a nice game, as well as a perfect sequel to a series that seemed lost in the maelstrom generated by THQ's bankruptcy. Fury might not have the charisma of the previous knight, War and Death, but overall the adventure boasts a very good pace, alternating between discreetly challenging fights and satisfying puzzles. Definitely recommended.
  3. Nov 29, 2018
    85
    Despite small budget and rather unimposing preview materials, Darksiders III turns out a great game. Gunfire Games deserve a standing ovation and a truckload of money. D3 is a game born from true passion and genuine love for the series.
  4. Nov 26, 2018
    85
    Darksiders 3 goes back to its Hack and Slash roots with some really engaging combat, challenging enemies, and a world that offers some great variety in its levels, but the course of the adventure ends up being somewhat linear.
  5. Dec 2, 2018
    84
    Unexpectedly difficult and demanding, Darksiders III will test your patience and challenge your skills, but it will reward you if you spend the time it deserves.
  6. Nov 26, 2018
    82
    Darksiders 3 makes great progress in terms of combat and story. If you are into action games, it might be the best appetizer before Devil May Cry 5 and Sekiro.
  7. Dec 11, 2018
    80
    Darksiders 3 is a bright and unique adventure that we want to continue. The game has less ambition, but it is sincere.
  8. Nov 26, 2018
    80
    Other than some lackluster progression mechanics and maybe a little too much reliance on players knowledge of the world, Darksiders III offers a great new take on an existing franchise.
  9. Nov 26, 2018
    80
    A good adventure that has every ingredient in the original Darksiders formula, and even manages to evolve it. In gameplay terms, we love Darksiders III, but its narrative is a complete mess.
  10. Nov 26, 2018
    80
    A mostly uninspired action-adventure, but very enjoyable nonetheless. Combat and exploration deliver good, old-school fun and the levels are brimming with secrets. However, the story turns out rather shallow and most of the collectables and upgrades are not nearly as motivating as in the first Darksiders game. But if you are a fan of the series and keep your expectations in check, by all means, go for it.
  11. Nov 26, 2018
    80
    Despite the issues that drag down Darksiders III, it's still an excellent hack-and-slash action RPG that is more than worth the $60 purchase. Combat is challenging and fun, the game world is richly detailed and full of secrets, and the artistic presentation is nothing short of phenomenal. Darksiders III is definitely a game that you should pick up, and the Darksiders franchise is definitely here to stay.
  12. Nov 26, 2018
    80
    Darksiders 3 does seem a bit lacking when compared to its series brethren, at least for those who come in with high expectations. Darksiders 3 is recognizably a Darksiders game. However, the game would have benefited from more risk-taking in areas where it chose to play it safe. Nevertheless, Fury’s story is one worth experiencing, especially for long-time fans who are anxious to see how the next chapter of the four horsemen unfurls.
  13. Nov 26, 2018
    80
    The design of the world, the way Fury explores it, the few puzzles, and the combat are all well-designed, elevating it above the elements that make it feel like a game from the past.
  14. Nov 26, 2018
    80
    Darksiders III is what a Darksiders title should be, even with its flaws. The improved gameplay and the astonishing level design make the game worth playing, even if the main story will not be remembered as one of the best in the franchise.
  15. Nov 26, 2018
    75
    With a more heavy focus on action, Darksiders III is a return to the roots of the franchise, and away from the RPG elements of its predecessor.
  16. Nov 26, 2018
    75
    Darksiders III is a fun game with an engaging combat system that can be very satisfying, particularly thanks to the dodge and counterattack system in place. All of this is surrounded by a surprisingly compelling storyline with interesting characters. There are issues in the game, with a few bugs and other technical problems as well as a pretty damn cheesy script, with the biggest issue being some downright irritating puzzle sections which are less about logically working something out than slamming your head into a wall repeatedly until something gives.
  17. Nov 26, 2018
    75
    Despite some technical setbacks, the 3rd release in the Darksiders series is exactly what the fans enjoyed from the previous installments. Solid gameplay, great character design, lots of different content types and that unique feeling that the series is known for, all of which help Darksiders III to overcome its technical problems and to stand up as a strong Action RPG.
  18. Nov 26, 2018
    75
    More than a tribute to the first two games, Darksiders III creates its own identity. More demanding, but also more rewarding, it improves the formula in almost every compartments. Sadly, it lacks the epic breath of its predecessors.
  19. Darksiders 3 is more difficult than the previous games. A terrible checkpoint system and long loading times make the game troublesome. But its soundtrack, combat system and bosses are great.
  20. Nov 26, 2018
    70
    Darksiders III takes on the return of the series with a lot of limitations regarding the other two entries. It’s been reduced in terms of exploration and puzzles, giving more prominence to the combat.
  21. Nov 26, 2018
    70
    The camera is a source of constant frustration since it causes a number of issues where you get sucker-punched in combat while you're still relatively weak. With that said, the combat becomes enjoyable once you come to grips with the Dark Souls-style system and the more open level design takes the sting out of having to fight through closed spaces for most of the game. One has to wonder how different the possible fourth game could be.
  22. Nov 26, 2018
    70
    If you're able to put those narrative shortcomings aside, there's a fair bit to like about Darksiders III. When compared to some of the most critically and commercially acclaimed video games of all time, it seems to fall well short, but perhaps that bar was never in reach. Judged on its own merits, Darksiders III combines interesting combat, clever map design, and engaging progression, though you may have to look past a lot of bland environments and go in with expectations in check in order to fully appreciate it.
  23. Nov 26, 2018
    70
    Darksiders III is a very good game marred by some severe issues. Still, I loved it. I only hope Gunfire Games addresses its issues.
  24. Nov 26, 2018
    70
    Darksiders 3 is a stable title but on that is far from sublime, full of good intentions but partly ravaged by a vision that is not completely in focus.
  25. Nov 26, 2018
    70
    Ultimately, Darksiders III takes players on a compelling journey that — when it hits its stride– stands shoulder to shoulder with the very best releases this year. Yet, just as the game starts delivering on its lofty potential, unfortunately, Gunfire Games often gives you another reason to grumble. If you can look past its woes, there’s a lot to love here — but be prepared for a frustrating delight.
  26. Nov 26, 2018
    70
    Darksiders III is a very enjoyable game, with many good things, but also many ups and downs. It’s a step back compared to its predecessors, but fans of the franchise should give it an opportunity.
  27. Nov 26, 2018
    70
    Darksiders III, while more limited in scope than its predecessor, provides a tighter, more deliberate experience that elaborates on the lore we’ve seen so far. The smaller world of Darksiders 3 may disappoint some fans of the previous game, but this feels like a reboot of the series. Poor PC performance, a lack of side-objectives and some unimaginative world-design point to a game with ambitions bigger than its budget, but Darksiders III is a fun and challenging experience that kept me engaged across the length of its story.
  28. Nov 26, 2018
    70
    The straightforward simplicity of Darksiders III is a refreshing change of pace after exploring so many dense open-world games. That simplicity doesn’t refer to the combat or boss battles, though, which are complex and almost startlingly unforgiving. Its throwback philosophy is comfort food for action gamers of a certain age, but it would’ve been nice to see the third game in the series introduce some new concepts to relaunch Darksiders in the modern age.
  29. Nov 26, 2018
    65
    Darksiders III has too many ups and downs in narrative and gameplay which keeps this game from being amazing.
  30. Nov 26, 2018
    62
    With less loot to grab, simplified platforming and easy puzzles, Darksiders 3 leans harder on its combat than previous games. And while Fury packs a punch, the wonky camera makes fights more frustrating that they should be. It doesn’t condemn Darksiders to oblivion, but it’s the lowlight of the series so far.
  31. Dec 3, 2018
    60
    The narrative attempts to hit all the emotional beats, but the execution is fumbled as a result of not being able to control for non-linearity. Series veterans may appreciate the added lore this game brings, but don’t expect much in the way of a satisfying resolution. It’s great to see Gunfire Games refreshing the Darksiders formula — they just haven’t quite nailed the dismount on this one.
  32. Nov 26, 2018
    58
    Combat that leans a little too heavily in the direction of counters isn’t the only issue here, but it’s the most prominent and one that bleeds into all the other shortcomings.
  33. Nov 27, 2018
    50
    With the increase in quality seen from the first game to the second, I had very high hopes for Darksiders III, unfortunately it just was not able to really reach the potential it was set up for.
  34. Nov 26, 2018
    50
    When combat is between you and one other, Darksiders 3 can provide some decent, button-mashy fun, but the real fight is with the baffling world design and some cheap deaths.
  35. Nov 26, 2018
    50
    Darksiders 3 is four years too late and four years behind current game design. As you (sufferingly) progress, things improve… but you really, really need to be dedicated to get to that point. I’d recommend Darksiders 3 to die-hard fans of the franchise — and I truly mean die-hard — and no one else. It’s too painful to play for a majority of the time. Still, better than Fallout 76, I guess.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Nov 26, 2018
    Darksiders' schlocky action makes a welcome return, though it's not enough to shake the feeling you've played this before - and better.
  2. Nov 26, 2018
    Darksiders 3 is a nostalgic trip, reminding me of games I loved when I was younger. It never does anything spectacular, nor does it offer many new ideas. Instead, it exists as an earnest reminder of how games played eight years ago, and that’s enough for me.
  3. Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn’t, and sometimes Ian Loredump shows up uninvited and ruins everything.
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 281 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 48 out of 281
  1. Nov 27, 2018
    9
    This is not a AAA made by a huge team. This is just a small group of people work of hope to keep a great franchise alive. Its not a perfectThis is not a AAA made by a huge team. This is just a small group of people work of hope to keep a great franchise alive. Its not a perfect game and should be like $40, but there is nothing like this. Some might say its a dark souls clone...I disagree. This is a action adventure RPG hack and slash. Its like Soul Reaver mixed with God of War and more elements of RPG and i love it and want more games like this. Full Review »
  2. Nov 27, 2018
    10
    This is one of my favourite franchise! I was waiting for this game since i passed the second part and i wanna say that that's very goodThis is one of my favourite franchise! I was waiting for this game since i passed the second part and i wanna say that that's very good restart of the series. Full Review »
  3. Nov 27, 2018
    10
    Nice game! I loved 1 and 2 and I love this even more. Considering the size of the team, and that I can play this game fully offline and noNice game! I loved 1 and 2 and I love this even more. Considering the size of the team, and that I can play this game fully offline and no microtransactions this game is perfect. Full Review »