User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 25 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 25
  2. Negative: 5 out of 25

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 6, 2019
    3
    I am torn about this game. It clearly tries to re-create what Diablo 1 was ... but worse. The aspect of item drops, legendaries/unique items ... the aspect of "crawling" through a dungeon is all gone.

    Diablo 1 is superior in EVERY aspect ... even graphically. So i do wonder .. why play this recreation .. when you can play Diablo 1? This game would work as a Diablo 1 clone on mobile
    I am torn about this game. It clearly tries to re-create what Diablo 1 was ... but worse. The aspect of item drops, legendaries/unique items ... the aspect of "crawling" through a dungeon is all gone.

    Diablo 1 is superior in EVERY aspect ... even graphically. So i do wonder .. why play this recreation .. when you can play Diablo 1?

    This game would work as a Diablo 1 clone on mobile .. for people with the attention span of a 5 minutes toilet break.
    Expand
  2. Dec 13, 2018
    9
    I felt in love with the game before it was even accessible by players. Tried it on a games trade show and added it to wishlist from spot. I bought it when it hit EA and stayed with it to the very end. I'm not disappointed! Every update added something to its value, i think it's a rare case those days.

    As devs always say, it is a loveletter to the first Diablo. Harcore games maybe
    I felt in love with the game before it was even accessible by players. Tried it on a games trade show and added it to wishlist from spot. I bought it when it hit EA and stayed with it to the very end. I'm not disappointed! Every update added something to its value, i think it's a rare case those days.

    As devs always say, it is a loveletter to the first Diablo. Harcore games maybe wouldn't be caught by its simplicity, but old fans that waited for a true reboot and the causal gamers too will quite probably fell in love as I did. It still utilizes unique mechanics that differs it from other games (path walking, shields, exploding zombies, cards instead of equipement, etc).

    I perceive myself as a hardcore gamer, and I just love the roguelike/roguelite mode where all your decisions matter. I like challenges that are set by the swarms of enemies, and also like to get lost in randomly gen. dungs.

    My favorite class? Definitely mage as it has more spell cards and requires a bit more of planning ahead and agility. Rogue with its Epic Arrows just sweeps enemies from their feet, and athe warrior is the pure tanker.

    I also love the artstyle - it's simplicity and clarity (especially the latter as I find hns games sometimes overcluthed by the enviro).

    It's flaws? It might get repetitive for some periods but three classes ammend that for me. The game could also use more soundtracks, they are cool, but the game could use some more. You won't find here much story which is a humoristic copy of what happened in D1.

    It's a nice piece of an indie game!
    Expand
  3. Dec 15, 2018
    8
    The Book of Demons is the first of the Return2Games franchise set in a world of complex mazes and levels of hordes of enemies. Unlike the typical hack’n’slash though, it rewards players who are smart and tactical, with varying degrees of play with the card and class systems. Despite it’s cheerful and paper aesthetic, it is quite dark and a very unique world. I truly recommend this for fansThe Book of Demons is the first of the Return2Games franchise set in a world of complex mazes and levels of hordes of enemies. Unlike the typical hack’n’slash though, it rewards players who are smart and tactical, with varying degrees of play with the card and class systems. Despite it’s cheerful and paper aesthetic, it is quite dark and a very unique world. I truly recommend this for fans of hack’n’slash games, or for those that like to try creative works of art. Expand
  4. Dec 18, 2018
    4
    This game looks nice, but that`s everything. Lame coridor without any players involvment. Just simple click, click, click tory. Straight to mobile plebs.
  5. Dec 26, 2018
    10
    game of the year 2018.diablo + new elements and gameplay I recommend.like the funny
  6. Dec 19, 2018
    10
    Book of Demons is a game purportedly inspired by the first Diablo.
    It is not a card game, cards are objects and skills. It's an ARPG with some roguelike mechanics and so much freedom in building a style of play.
    The demo offers a first taste, but remember: the real game begins after finishing the main story (10 hours). At that point you have a lot of cards (not all) and start refining
    Book of Demons is a game purportedly inspired by the first Diablo.
    It is not a card game, cards are objects and skills. It's an ARPG with some roguelike mechanics and so much freedom in building a style of play.
    The demo offers a first taste, but remember: the real game begins after finishing the main story (10 hours). At that point you have a lot of cards (not all) and start refining your style of play. If you click casually, you will die soon. Because enemies have certain mechanics that must be taken into account. Try it! It costs nothing! Now I appreciate the ARPG again thanks to BoD.
    Expand
  7. Dec 17, 2018
    9
    Interesting, fresh indie game. I recommend this one. Good music, art, gamplay.
  8. Dec 23, 2018
    8
    it has an original way of being simple, yet fun and engaging. i didnt expect much of it, because i dont usually like this little simple games, but it really surprised me and im hooked
  9. Jan 14, 2019
    7
    i wanted to like it more because of the unique gameplay and art style but after about 7hrs, it has gotten pretty bland. it is a bit of a slow bland game. the long time-to-kill is a bit too long due to different enemy mechanics (vision, elemental resis, spell invuln, jumping...) and gameplay got boring when it was just hold the mouse down, jump, hold the mouse down, jump, potion... also toi wanted to like it more because of the unique gameplay and art style but after about 7hrs, it has gotten pretty bland. it is a bit of a slow bland game. the long time-to-kill is a bit too long due to different enemy mechanics (vision, elemental resis, spell invuln, jumping...) and gameplay got boring when it was just hold the mouse down, jump, hold the mouse down, jump, potion... also to maximize, i end up having to pause the game a lot to swap cards to handle different encounters which was pretty annoying. i am playing this as a side game for killing time Expand
  10. Dec 18, 2018
    10
    Got the game in early access with no regrets, its come forward in leaps and bounds! I can play the game for hours straight or only 20 mins and still feel like I've progressed and achieved something. I always keep coming back to it regardless of what else I'm playing. I cant wait to see what other games they will add to the collection in the future. I even purchased the Supporters Pack asGot the game in early access with no regrets, its come forward in leaps and bounds! I can play the game for hours straight or only 20 mins and still feel like I've progressed and achieved something. I always keep coming back to it regardless of what else I'm playing. I cant wait to see what other games they will add to the collection in the future. I even purchased the Supporters Pack as soon as it was available, small companies like this with a great vision as theirs need all our support! Expand
  11. Jan 12, 2019
    7
    As fun as it is at first, playing this over time starts to wear you down and becomes quite repetitive. If you do get this game, I suggest you play it in doses to get the most out of it, otherwise you'll quickly find yourself getting saturated with it, like I did. I will finish the game eventually, but for now, after playing it for almost two weeks straight (and being halfway done), I willAs fun as it is at first, playing this over time starts to wear you down and becomes quite repetitive. If you do get this game, I suggest you play it in doses to get the most out of it, otherwise you'll quickly find yourself getting saturated with it, like I did. I will finish the game eventually, but for now, after playing it for almost two weeks straight (and being halfway done), I will say that its fun, but gets tedious after a point. Expand
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Jan 15, 2019
    80
    Although I was initially unsure about it, Book of Demons turned into another pleasant indie surprise. It’s beautifully stylized, you can easily adjust its scope to fit your schedule and the challenge is appropriately set.
  2. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Jan 10, 2019
    60
    A decent attempt at a paper version of simplistic Diablo, which, however, suffers from slight repetitiveness and relative shortness. But still, it is worth a try. [Issue#292]
  3. Jan 10, 2019
    64
    Book of Demons is a game that manages, albeit with some difficulty, to welcome the players little accustomed to the genre towards hours of healthy hack 'n' slash shear-devils.