User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 40 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 40
  2. Negative: 8 out of 40

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 18, 2018
    5
    just good music i think , confusing map , no information , when you die you must start at the first that show there is no story and just a survival video game .
  2. Dec 15, 2018
    7
    Beautiful, boring, mysterious.

    There's a sense of wonder and exploration in Below you don't get anywhere else. It's mysterious, foreboding, and it really is a world of its own. It's beautiful, the music is gorgeous and it creates a real atmosphere, especially when you're out in the rain, exploring the island for the first time. This atmosphere extends into the depths as you go down, and
    Beautiful, boring, mysterious.

    There's a sense of wonder and exploration in Below you don't get anywhere else. It's mysterious, foreboding, and it really is a world of its own. It's beautiful, the music is gorgeous and it creates a real atmosphere, especially when you're out in the rain, exploring the island for the first time. This atmosphere extends into the depths as you go down, and then fills you with wonder when you find a short-cut connecting you to a previously visited area, or a secret-passage that opens to a beach, where tens of ship-wrecks lie still in the water. You will feel clever when you catch a fish with your spear, feel conflicted when you kill a harmless fox for your own survival. You will, however, feel an unrelenting and unavoidable sense of boredom dawn upon you as you pick up every stick, rock and piece of string, make your sixty-eighth band-aid, your fiftieth torch, find your coveted lantern, only to step on a trap immediately after, teleport backwards and forwards and up-and-down between each campfire, walk down the same set of steps for the sixteenth time, swing your sword, or fire your unwieldy bow at the same enemy, in the same room over and over, picking up the remains of every single one, as you descend again and again. You will be compelled however to continue, for your curiosity cannot be quenched, and the allure of revelation - the telling of just another secret is too rich a prize, and however hard the slog, however seemingly distant and intangible the reward; however down-right tedious the trek, you will be drawn back down Below.
    Expand
  3. Dec 15, 2018
    3
    average for a roguelike, at best. the issue is the slow game pace. you run too much. like many others, i do not like the camera because it is way too high above the character, which makes combat and other actions feel less intense, i'm afraid. overall, it is okay, and it has some dark and fantasy moments. but really, the roguelike genre is so rich in games and concepts, there are and thereaverage for a roguelike, at best. the issue is the slow game pace. you run too much. like many others, i do not like the camera because it is way too high above the character, which makes combat and other actions feel less intense, i'm afraid. overall, it is okay, and it has some dark and fantasy moments. but really, the roguelike genre is so rich in games and concepts, there are and there will be better games. the graphics are decent, though i admit that it looks cheap when the light is reflected from the ground between the grass as if you were walking on metal, which feels weird. i am not sure why they missed it. the same goes to the very shaky grass animations. my general feeling is that below came too late. it may have been a hit 3-5 years ago, but today it is not special. but if you dig the theme, the atmosphere, go for it, or wait for a sales. Expand
  4. Dec 14, 2018
    9
    The game is definitely worth the wait. It has a lot going on for it in terms of graphics, sound and overall atmosphere. The combat and machinics are easy to learn, but hard to master. If you like that, give it a try!
  5. Dec 15, 2018
    10
    Beautiful, haunting, deep, atmospheric, intelligent are just some of the ways I can describe my first 30 minutes with this gem. I never played anything quite like this before and I look forward to many more sessions with this mysterious game.

    Thank you Capy for making something this great! You guys are an inspiration!
  6. Dec 18, 2018
    9
    At least I played 6 hours, and the game did not disappoint me. As I've been waiting for, the main theme of the game is to explore the path through the cave, discover the history behind and survive. The most important thing is to survive.
    It's a difficult game, but bad, not at all.
    Excellent music, atmospheric and exciting.
    The wait was worth it.
  7. Dec 23, 2018
    0
    This game is **** I had to drop it down to 720p just to be able to read the font. The game inflates the difficulty by locking you into a view that makes it hard to pick out details. A zoom feature would be **** nice so I don't have to sit 3 feet from my TV. The death mechanic is basically "let's make a dark souls game without being sued or mocked for making a dark souls game."This game is **** I had to drop it down to 720p just to be able to read the font. The game inflates the difficulty by locking you into a view that makes it hard to pick out details. A zoom feature would be **** nice so I don't have to sit 3 feet from my TV. The death mechanic is basically "let's make a dark souls game without being sued or mocked for making a dark souls game." Garbage. On my xbox I realized I could restart the game offline to start over rather than having to go through the frustration of having to retrieve corpses. That's how invested the developer is to their hardcore mechanic, you can't delete your profile from the Xbox cloud! And the game is so hard without the lantern it's easier to start over than to attempt to retrieve your body without a dependable light source. The limited use campfire transportation system also adds to the frustration. The music and soundtrack is great but that's the only compliment I can pay this game.
    If you play games to relax then get Dark Souls or even give The Surge a try. If your only sense of achievement in life is completing hard games then this is your game.
    Expand
  8. Jan 16, 2019
    10
    Esse é um ótimo jogo tecnicamente, que tem todo um design de Titan Souls e tem gráficos magníficos ao meu ver, e quanto mais você joga, mais viciante fica, mostrando ser superior a muitos jogos que vi em 2018.
  9. Dec 20, 2018
    9
    So far I am loving this game, I died once due to my first in counter of a trap. Since then I haven’t died at all. As long as you bandage yourself and craft/eat plenty of soup and drink water you’ll be fine. I love exploring this game, it’s so pretty and the atmosphere is perfect. I haven’t reach any real tough creatures though, hopefully there’s a mini boss or something the puzzlesSo far I am loving this game, I died once due to my first in counter of a trap. Since then I haven’t died at all. As long as you bandage yourself and craft/eat plenty of soup and drink water you’ll be fine. I love exploring this game, it’s so pretty and the atmosphere is perfect. I haven’t reach any real tough creatures though, hopefully there’s a mini boss or something the puzzles don’t seem to difficult which is kind of disappointing but never seems boring. The combat is fun and feels a lot like Zelda and the game does get more challenging in the later levels, thankfully the enemies get tougher as well. However the fun of discovery still remains. I only have one tip for you, when in doubt use your lantern, it will make this game a whole lot more enjoyable. if you like exploring your going to really enjoy this great game. Expand
  10. Dec 30, 2018
    6
    Below is a fine game. From Canadian indie studio Capybara, Below is a game that’s been long in development. Announced in 2013 and intended for release in 2016, the game was infinitely delayed so that Capybara could take the time to polish the game. The completed product was released on December 14th, 2018 and, believe me when I say, it is well-polished.
    Below does not hold your hand when
    Below is a fine game. From Canadian indie studio Capybara, Below is a game that’s been long in development. Announced in 2013 and intended for release in 2016, the game was infinitely delayed so that Capybara could take the time to polish the game. The completed product was released on December 14th, 2018 and, believe me when I say, it is well-polished.
    Below does not hold your hand when it comes to explaining things, nor does it give you a ‘tutorial section’ to figure things out. That is something that I both enjoyed and didn’t—I enjoyed seeing what items I could put together in my inventory to craft something entirely new, and then watch that new item in action, but, at the same time, I did not enjoy the fact that it explains nothing—it took me two hours into the game to realise that I could switch my weapon by pressing X.
    Designed to be ‘difficult, but fair’, is only one of those two things. The combat is engaging, with the levels slowly introducing newer and more difficult monsters, but the random presence of spike traps and death pits that kill you—out of nowhere—and force you to start over from scratch will grate on your nerves as you wonder why you picked up the game to begin with. Furthermore, the fast-travel system in the game is obtuse: You need to collect 25 bits to be able to turn a fireplace blue, which allows you to travel from that point to the previous fireplace… for 25 bits. If you die, you are permitted to use the fireplace once, probably, for 25 bits, that will then allow you to pick up where you left off. Die again, and you’re forced to start from scratch.
    Too much focus is placed on the survival and rougelike elements, creating a game that is frantic and fast-paced; yet, going too fast punishes the player. The game is imbalanced and difficult in ways that seem needless. Some people will enjoy this game; the sense of achievement that you get from clearing an area, or finding a way deeper down is a feeling quite like any other, but the pace of Below is contradicted by its desire to have you explore—a quick pace and exploration do not go hand-in-hand.
    All in all, I would recommend this game for people who like a challenge like no other, because Below is a game quite unlike any other. That’s not a commendation, but it is by no means an insult.
    Expand
  11. Dec 26, 2018
    3
    Procedural sometimes works like SH*T and you are forced to die. We would talk about the dark zone? with the **** billion tentacles everywhere? Again, you are forced to run otherwise you die. 5 years for what? to play like this? no thanks
  12. Dec 29, 2018
    10
    *DISCLAIMER FOR ANYONE NON-SURE IF WANNA BUY* Yes, game is hard and can be frustrating. But it is precisely designed part of its experience. Yes, there is permadeath. But the game does have many kinds of game saving mechanics. Firstly: after every second or third level (or sth like that) you get acces to a shortcut: from Island to a certain floor. There are many of such shortcuts, they are*DISCLAIMER FOR ANYONE NON-SURE IF WANNA BUY* Yes, game is hard and can be frustrating. But it is precisely designed part of its experience. Yes, there is permadeath. But the game does have many kinds of game saving mechanics. Firstly: after every second or third level (or sth like that) you get acces to a shortcut: from Island to a certain floor. There are many of such shortcuts, they are regular. Secondly: on one of first floors you can find an oniric equipment storage mechanism, which allows you to hoard items and food. Thirdly: on the Island, and from shortcuts there are certain areas filled up with a certain items. For example: floor 3 is the best for gaining crystals, if You know how to survive there. That allows you to make preparations for next stepping into the depth. And, of course, you can find your last dead character and take its items - it is easy, because the map shows you exacly where it is. What is more, the map is very easy to follow, and always shows you: if the room is safe or not, what are directions to walk from this room, and if there is a secret in this room. So no frustrating exploration - your task is to find the way, enlight hidden things and investige them, in interactive way. Yes, there are one-kill traps. But they are visible and easy to disarm, they are to force you to be careful and understand importance of light in this game. Game have no tutorials and dialogs. It is atmospheric rougelike, much more interactive than you think. It is hardcore gaming, but very fluent and immersive. *END OF THE DISCLAIMER*

    Was waiting for such a game for so long! Seems normal artistic-indie atmospheric fight exploration game, but the trailers and ,,first 15 minutes" do not show much, so you are not sure what to expect. You run the game. No start screen, no tutorial, even no menu. Lonely boat on an ocean. Lonely island. You step into the cave, and then...

    To the last moment you have no idea what you can find in the depths. What you will have to do, to survive. Hunting for mices to not starve? Eating raw meat, and then vomiting, placing yourself in danger if attacked? Will you see the traps? Will you figure out, how to disarm or protect from them? You know, half wounds you will get, will be bleeding. How many bandages you made before? One? Great, this time you are not dead. That monster wasn't worth risk, you know, you wouldn't be able even to get meat from it. You want to explore that corner? Do you have enough lantern crystals or torches to get there, go back to the next camp and don't get killed in between? Well, if so, you're welcome... Did you wonder about that strange sounds around?

    On the surface - simple crafting based on four/three slots to combine, simple combat without stamina, not many weapons or items to colletc, nice looking locations with no hidden rooms.

    If you look correctly - perfectly working deep mechanics connected to the narrative and gameworld logic. Suprisingly many resources to get from environment, and even more items to create with them. Dynamic, movement-based combat with emphasis on timing and aiming, where every weapon has its application, and any wound is a big step to fall, or victory. Beautiful, spacious locations, filled up with different resources and dangers, every single level with its own specific atmosphere and desing construction. Discreet, easy to understand HUD, an affordance to explore with no pointless tries to find the hidden door, but some shortcuts and keys to special places.

    And, of course, great soundtrack by Jim Guthrie, which do not need to be praise :)

    For me - magnificent game. Hope people will find out what precious thing they got to their hands :3
    Expand
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Jan 17, 2019
    60
    There’s a fun and challenging experience down in the depths of Below, especially in the very lowest levels. Unfortunately, the cumbersome design will turn players away and keep the game’s treasures hidden forever.
  2. Jan 17, 2019
    67
    The art style is so beautiful to enjoy, but the gameplay is too repetitive to bear.
  3. 70
    Below has simple but satisfying combat, is easy on the eyes and ears, and the crafting system is fun once you get to grips with it. The trouble is, unlike other recent roguelike games, it doesn’t value fun above frustration and actively punishes you for slip-ups. Despite this, it’s a compelling experience, just not necessarily a fun one.