Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
Buy On
  1. Nov 14, 2018
    95
    Battlefield V brings a lot to the table. Between the great gameplay, superb story from singleplayer, and customization of your character, there's something for everyone.
  2. Nov 19, 2018
    92
    Lots of gameplay improvements, a variety of maps, deep customization and excellent graphics make Battlefield V a nominee for the best shooter of 2018.
  3. Nov 8, 2018
    91
    An impressive shooter, both in its gameplay and technical elements, which lacks of content at launch, but promises lots of new maps, modes and weapons (free for everyone) in the coming months.
  4. Nov 15, 2018
    90
    Battlefield 5 has nailed the sort of gameplay that drew us into the series in the first place. When you and your crew are clicking, when you’re all playing the objective, taking fights at the right time, popping smokes to cover advances and retreats, resupplying mines for one another in the backfield, and back-capping under the enemy’s noses, Battlefield 5 is unstoppable. Untouchable even.
  5. Nov 12, 2018
    90
    Battlefield V does not reinvent anything but improves every aspect of Battlefield 1, except for single player campaign duration. And it's still missing some relevant contents, but it will grow with tons of free stuff during the next months.
  6. Nov 11, 2018
    90
    After spending quite a while with the game, I’m blown away that there’s still so much to discover. With dozens of collectibles to find in the single player campaign, a seemingly-unlimited number of weekly challenges, and the Tides of War looming large on the horizon, Battlefield V is the best this series has ever been, and easily the best FPS of the season.
  7. Nov 8, 2018
    90
    If you’re a Battlefield fan who didn’t like the times when DICE has played it safe in the past, Battlefield V is for you. I’m one of those people, and I cannot wait to jump into epic play sessions of what could quickly become my favourite Battlefield game, more so now that the community won’t be divided with future content.
  8. Nov 8, 2018
    90
    Battlefield V is full of a lot more content than people might be expecting. War Stories contains meaningful experiences in short spurts, the maps in the game are huge and well designed, the modes of play raise the entertainment bar when compared to Battlefield I, and the customization/progression system will keep people occupied for a while, as well as provide motivation to keep playing. This feels like a Battlefield game, which should tame concerns of lack of launch content.
  9. Nov 8, 2018
    90
    Battlefield V delivers the series' finest single-player campaign yet, painting the horror of war from rarely seen perspectives. That tension carries through to the multiplayer, which has been tuned to hammer home your vulnerability in a firefight.
  10. Nov 15, 2018
    88
    Battlefield 5 is a great successor, but lacks in the area of multiplayer maps. For the next game DICE should think about leaving out the non-essential single-player campaign.
  11. Nov 12, 2018
    85
    After two years Battlefield is back, and we can say that this is certainly one of its best incarnations.
  12. Nov 8, 2018
    85
    Quotation forthcoming.
  13. Nov 8, 2018
    85
    Without taking any risks, Battlefield 5 is a nice follow-up that vastly improves on BF1's recipe with more open solo War Stories, and a rejuvenated gameplay that puts the emphasis on team play through the brand new squad system.
  14. Nov 13, 2018
    83
    Battlefield V is a great chapter in the series, but it isn't without some problems. Attrition is the best addition to the gameplay of Battlefield in years and Tides of War can give the title new life with every update. Apart from these elements, war stories are too short, historical problems could have been avoided and some additional content could have been released at launch.
  15. Nov 14, 2018
    82
    On one hand, we have a beautiful game that polishes the already great core of the franchise, but on the other hand we find an alarming lack of content. We have a very solid foundation, and we can only wait and see what the future brings.
  16. Nov 19, 2018
    80
    Quotation forthcoming.
  17. Nov 17, 2018
    80
    The Battlefield series has a winning formula that Battlefield V doesn't deviate far from, at least for now. Conquest and the map roster don't mesh well together, however, Grand Operations--and the other modes within it--steal the show and foster some of the greatest moments the franchise has offered.
  18. Nov 16, 2018
    80
    On day one, the game feels a few reinforcements short to pull off the overwhelming victory we’ve come to expect given the series’ strong lineage.
  19. Nov 16, 2018
    80
    The most visually stunning FPS game on the market right now with a thoroughly engaging multiplayer. Sadly, it still remains incomplete.
  20. Nov 16, 2018
    80
    For fans who played and loved the early games, Battlefield V is like a memory on steroids. It’s a very good game, not quite a great one yet, but six months from now it may prove to be a high water mark in the franchise.
  21. Nov 15, 2018
    80
    As it stands right now, the game is a rough, uncut diamond that could’ve been the crown jewel of class-based multiplayer first-person shooters.
  22. Nov 15, 2018
    80
    It’s true that the single player portion is a let down considering the massive amount of potential that peeks through, but the high-quality multiplayer manages to make up the difference. The only real question is in how quick and efficiently the final glitches can be resolved. Even with these present, the title is well worth a player’s time. Once the wrinkles get ironed out, the Battlefield V will be required playing for anyone with even a passing interest in throwing down online.
  23. Battlefield V successfully delivers expectations from gameplay perspective. The new featured Grand Operations mod and War Stories are great. But releasing with only 8 maps and lack of content is also concerning.
  24. Nov 14, 2018
    80
    While I'm happy with what we got, I ultimately can't help but wonder what another six months could've done for Battlefield V. In a business with virtually no downtime, that's just the way it is.
  25. Nov 14, 2018
    80
    Battlefield V scratches an itch that many will have had since Battlefield 4. DICE have found a great feel for the gunplay, the tweaks to classes and additions like fortifications largely work as intended, and the way that Grand Operations have evolved brings a refreshing variety to the game. Sure, it’s around the edges at launch and with some largely forgettable single play War Stories, Battlefield V is a diamond in the rough.
  26. Nov 14, 2018
    80
    Battlefield 5 is a good game, but not a great one. The multiplayer can be great fun when you find the right server, and the single player shines a light on parts of World War 2 that aren’t in the public consciousness. However, the stripped back multiplayer and several of the same old problems mean that I’m wishing that this particularly war had perhaps changed a little more.
  27. Nov 14, 2018
    80
    Battlefield V is a nice game, although we will have to wait for months to play all of its content. Not the most innovative iteration of DICE’s series, but an epic shooter about the infamous World War II.
  28. Nov 8, 2018
    80
    Battlefield V is a good surprise with a new teamplay system (support by intelligent heal mechanics), more destruction, customization and specialization system for weapons and vehicles. Definitively Battlefield V is a monumental shooter despite a conventional single-player (which stays interesting).
  29. Nov 8, 2018
    80
    Despite the bad press at the start, I have a lot of faith in Dice as a developer and they have delivered a fantastic shooter this year with Battlefield V after listening to their community and taking their feedback seriously.
  30. Nov 14, 2018
    79
    As chaotic and exhilarating as Battlefield has always been. Just don’t expect a dramatic reinvention of the series.
  31. Nov 12, 2018
    77
    It's undeniable that Battlefield 5 is solid and the squad system is greatly improved. However, because of the absence of the Firestorm and Combined Arms, the gameplay doesn't show much difference compared with its prequels while the Grand Operations mode which is the only new mode in BF5 at this time is dull and full of flaws.
  32. 70
    Low on content and rough around the edges, Battlefield V feels like it was butchered for the sake of future "free" updates. What's here is fun, but it isn't a full-fledged experience, and it feels like an investment in an incomplete game.
  33. Nov 15, 2018
    70
    The impression that it leaves is a game that isn’t quite ready, and players will have to decide whether they’re willing to pay to wait for more of it to arrive.
  34. Nov 19, 2018
    67
    If you are not an absolute die hard fan, even the incredible 6 hour campaign is not enough to justify a full $60 purchase. If you’re ok with buying now and getting the rest of the game later though, the content at launch is worth playing.
  35. Nov 16, 2018
    60
    Battlefield V‘s failure to communicate, whether the emotional disconnect of each War Story or the difficulty of organizing your fellow soldiers in a Grand Operation, is the crippling problem that holds the game back from greatness.
  36. Nov 12, 2018
    60
    Battlefield V fails to impress the same way Battlefield 1 did. By all means, give it a try if you’re a fan of DICE’s previous work, but know that you’ll have to put up with some pretty glaring faults.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Nov 8, 2018
    Even before playing on live servers I’m not afraid to say that Battlefield V’s multiplayer is great. That is simply undeniable. It’s impossible to not care about the result of each match, tense finishes seem to happen almost every other game and the moment to moment action is incredibly satisfying.
  2. Nov 9, 2018
    Battlefield V's single-player campaigns have a heavy reliance on stealth that doesn’t always play to the series’ strengths, but they do tell some poignant stories and deliver great-looking and sounding gunplay in explosive battles. A lack of enemy variety or consistent AI makes it feel a little whack-a-mole in the more linear segments, until it opens up and gives you some options for how you want to tackle its objectives. [Single-Player review score = 73]
  3. Nov 12, 2018
    It is one of the fastest military shooters to be released in years. The experience left me breathless at times. After a full weekend of play, all I want is more. But to buy into Battlefield 5 in 2018 is to accept a number of flaws and compromises. With multiple game modes still in development, including a battle royale mode that is still months from being available, Battlefield 5 is a work in progress.
  4. Taken on its own terms, Battlefield V is an incredible achievement that’s absolutely worth your time and its AAA price tag. Taken in the context of every battle that’s gone before, what’s on sale is the all-too familiar fantasy of being one insignificant drop in a sea of raging war-soup. It’s a fantasy I’ve lived enough times already.
  5. Nov 8, 2018
    Battlefield 5 is a brilliant shooter that’s hamstrung by its setting. Ignoring all the tonal weirdness, the core of the game is the best it has been since Bad Company 2, filled with smart design choices. When we finally get away from this latest trend of revisiting historical conflicts, when Battlefield is once again freed creatively, we could finally get something to rival the Bad Company series.
User Score
3.7

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 772 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Nov 15, 2018
    0
    What in the world is this game? A joke. A disgrace to World War 2 veterans. I can't believe I got this pile of garbage. MicrotransactionsWhat in the world is this game? A joke. A disgrace to World War 2 veterans. I can't believe I got this pile of garbage. Microtransactions galore, same looks and textures from Battlefield 1 in 2016. Poor AI in the campaign which, by the way was one of the worst stories I've played from DICE. No interesting plot, no rememberable characters. Go to Point A, Point B, come back and repeat. Why support a company that does this? Outrageous that it's a 60 dollar game too. Do not buy, wait for a better game! Full Review »
  2. Nov 15, 2018
    10
    I've been a Battlefield veteran for a little under 10 years now, and Battlefield V is by far my favorite title in the series so far. II've been a Battlefield veteran for a little under 10 years now, and Battlefield V is by far my favorite title in the series so far. I canceled my pre-order after the beta, but I decided to give it another shot as I love the series. DICE really took the constructive criticisms to heart. There are NO microtransactions in the game at launch, and when they arrive, they will be cosmetic only and no random boxes. All future content is free. The gunplay is comparable to BF3, which many people consider to have the best gunplay in the entire series. The character customization, while lacking an actual character creator, is in-depth enough for people who are into it yet not so in-depth that those who don't enjoy that aspect of a game won't find it tedious and distracting. The gameplay itself is fast paced and has a sense of urgency that I feel was missing from Battlefield 1. The weapon progression is fantastic, and the idea to have the starter weapons full upgraded on start prevents new players from being run over by veteran players (something that occurred in Battlefront 2). I was skeptical when I played the beta, like I'm sure many of you were, but rest assured, the final product is by far worth the money and a fantastic addition to the series. They took the better parts of the previous games, specifically regarding players' feedback, and created, in my personal opinion, one of the best FPS games in that last decade. If you are a fan of previous Battlefields and took a break due to the change BF1 saw in the series, I implore you to give Battlefield V a chance. Full Review »
  3. Nov 16, 2018
    1
    No battlefield has felt as much as a COD game as this one.
    Smaller maps, fewer vehicules, focus on gunfight in close quarters, skill gives
    No battlefield has felt as much as a COD game as this one.
    Smaller maps, fewer vehicules, focus on gunfight in close quarters, skill gives places to the "first who spots the other" tactics. You've got it all here.
    Classes have been changed, in a bad way. For exemple medics are now redondant, everyone can do anything they can do, just a little slower. Health packs can be picked easily, you can be revived by non medics, hardly anyone will need your healing. They most likely already have a health pack or they die as soon as they are spotted. I used to finished in the top 3 players playing just as a pure medic and not as a killing machine. You can't do that anymore, as a medic your job is just secondary to killing now.

    The focus is now on squad play. Which is lame. How often do you have 3 friends ready to join you? Do you even want to? I usually launch the game for a quick match when I have the time. I do not want to plan an event to enjoy the game every time and playing as squadmates with strangers is a dice roll.
    What about the UI? Still terribly confusing. It's messy, doesn't give the right info and makes you go to many clicks to do what you need to. I still haven't really figured out some of the stuff to improve my weapons.
    All this and the terrible terrible political stance of this game and its devs... Makes me give it a 1. It's not a good game.
    Full Review »