User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 131 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 74 out of 131
  2. Negative: 38 out of 131

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 14, 2018
    7
    There are some really great elements to this game, but honestly the combat and movement mechanics don't really hold up. The combat feels like a more rigid version of the original Dark Souls and as a long time souls fan it feels very limiting. The difficulty seems a bit more forgiving and does do a few things differently with way points and a proper quest log to help players from gettingThere are some really great elements to this game, but honestly the combat and movement mechanics don't really hold up. The combat feels like a more rigid version of the original Dark Souls and as a long time souls fan it feels very limiting. The difficulty seems a bit more forgiving and does do a few things differently with way points and a proper quest log to help players from getting lost.

    The storytelling, soundtrack and general aesthetic of the game are fantastic however this leaves me feeling very conflicted about this game, the world building is great really but the game play is mediocre leaving me feeling disappointed overall.
    Expand
  2. Dec 30, 2018
    6
    I am in fact, in love with ASHEN. issue is, well... Rating this game higher than a 6 would be disingenuous and just bullcrap. I really enjoy the game, the voice acting and story telling, the music, background noises, sound effects, they all help and hold up as you get immersed in this world. For those of you who have not studied, looked into or played ASHEN, PLEASE understand... theI am in fact, in love with ASHEN. issue is, well... Rating this game higher than a 6 would be disingenuous and just bullcrap. I really enjoy the game, the voice acting and story telling, the music, background noises, sound effects, they all help and hold up as you get immersed in this world. For those of you who have not studied, looked into or played ASHEN, PLEASE understand... the combat is pretty awful. its not the worst, but that is not saying much as the games combat just isn't there and many games do it better.... This being that there are hardly any weapons to choose from and the combat itself is very clunky...

    8 hours into the game I can count I've found 20 weapons, 3 pieces of armor which are good, and almost all of them just being either a variety of maces or just axes. There are long maces, long axes, spears, hatchets, club... there is no variety at all. The armor that gets increasingly better as time goes on, yet look uglier and don't even match the art style. (in fact the armor I'm using currently is the insurgent armor... why is this in the game? it looks like its from china and it doesn't even fit the art style.)

    issue being though, the combat itself isn't all great, it pins you and an AI companion that doesn't do his or her job half the time against sometimes a dozen enemies which at times can take 6-8 heavy attack swings from an upgraded weapon to kill.

    Even with upgraded health and stamina along with a good pair of armor you are looking at getting hit twice then dying to characters with really unnecessarily large AOE attacks or very large reach that can be dodged, but considering you can be fighting up to 9-12 enemies, some being as large or as fast as the deadliest one you are fighting or that exact enemy, death and or losing these fights are all to often and everywhere. You will get spammed and overwhelmed at times and you cant do much but heal up which wastes money and your consumables, this all along with a broken lock on system, broken hitboxes, sometimes dying through walls and stupidly OP enemies like the Einar that spit fire...

    Not only that, your AI companion wont be doing much to help.

    Either rushing into combat and dying, making stupid decisions like running away or not reviving you, or failing to prioritize targets, you will find the AI characters being more of an annoyance than help. I've had too many times where the AI just takes off and does its own thing, had times where it fails to revive me and no threats are around, I've also had times where there are two enemy targets, one had 25% health and other is full, instead of prioritizing targets and killing the weak one, it will try to face off the healthier target... With all this, they can only be revived once, in an area before you go back to a checkpoint, meaning if they don't heal themselves, and you are in a tough fight and they get injured again,, you lose their assistance, as you are still fighting 6-12 enemies you probably will lose....

    Now you'd think, its just AI and just companions , well, issue is... they are integral to the story, yet they seem to not interact or do much or say much when they are with you doing there own quest, WITH YOU, mind you. You could be completing a life changing quest with them and they don't comment on it, react to it or say anything while you are WITH THEM DOING IT IN THE HEAT OF THE MOMENT, and when the quest or side mission is over, I have to go BACK to town to give them the item or news THAT THEY WERE JUST WITH ME AND WITNESSED, FOUGHT AND NEARLY DIED THROUGH... And yet, the AI and story telling acts like they weren't there, why cant I talk to them, interact with them or speak to them where we just were? it would be amazing to hear their reaction or there complaining as we just nearly died went on an adventure... (As good as the writing is) at times it doesn't even seem aware of this HUGE IMMERSION BREAKING FLAW...

    The companion system is straight broken, choosing a companion should be an interface or thing of its own, companions should be able to talk or interact with the world while you are with them and they should not be oblivious like I stated previously...

    You should be able to communicate with companions as fallout does... because this is not even remotely what "building relationships" are like, there is no building relationships... Nothing you do makes affinity or standing with any of the AI any better or worse, there are no real tough decisions, you hardly meet AI that talk or want to go to your town WHICH WAS THE POINT OF THE game TO FIND A HOME. There just isn't much making the world feel real or better than its surface level face is. On the top the game Is immersive, but once you see these flaws this game cant be taken seriously at times... if they fix this, add more to the map, fix combat, add more to combat and be GOOD DEVS, id 10 star this game so quick...

    I LOVE THIS GAME, AND IT HURTS TO SEE THAT THIS IS TRULY WHAT IT IS, ITS HOLLOW...
    Expand
  3. Dec 17, 2018
    9
    small scale souls like. You can tell it's lower budget by the limited weapon move sets and limited progression options. But it fights well, looks great, and has a decent length. There is no reason to complain with only a $39 price tag or $1 if you have a xbox and the game pass since it's currently discounted. I thoroughly enjoyed my 20 hours with the game but you can't experiment withsmall scale souls like. You can tell it's lower budget by the limited weapon move sets and limited progression options. But it fights well, looks great, and has a decent length. There is no reason to complain with only a $39 price tag or $1 if you have a xbox and the game pass since it's currently discounted. I thoroughly enjoyed my 20 hours with the game but you can't experiment with builds or pvp so that's about all the time i'll put in for now. The game good so I can see myself showing it off to a friend or having a craving to beat it again after some time has passed. Expand
  4. Dec 24, 2018
    5
    Ashen feels like it’s trying to copy Dark Souls without actually understanding how DS works. The combat has been referred to as Souls-like, but aside from the control scheme, it doesn’t compare. Ashen has multiple different kinds of weapons… yet they all function identically. They don’t have unique swing animations or damage types… of course, nearly all the enemies in the game are justAshen feels like it’s trying to copy Dark Souls without actually understanding how DS works. The combat has been referred to as Souls-like, but aside from the control scheme, it doesn’t compare. Ashen has multiple different kinds of weapons… yet they all function identically. They don’t have unique swing animations or damage types… of course, nearly all the enemies in the game are just ‘human’ type, so you’ll always be using the same tactics anyway. Without variety, complexity, and challenge, the Souls style of combat isn’t interesting, and its execution, with a lot of flashing particle effects, slow weapon swing animations, and multiple characters (including the player’s minion) piling in simultaneously, makes it feel chaotic and clunky.

    The ‘minion’ is an AI NPC that follows along with you in combat and can be invisibly controlled by another player who is in the same area of the game as you (and vice versa). In concept, it’s interesting, but it has a few glaring issues… Since the real human player will spontaneously become the NPC (and you will become their NPC) but you’re both playing your OWN game, no player is explicitly ‘in charge’. This *should* result in interesting emergent gameplay mechanics (as your only way of communicating is to flash a charm above your head or point to your objective), but in practice it often results in your previously-reliable NPC companion disappearing in the opposite direction just as you engage a group of enemies, as they assume you (THEIR faithful NPC) will follow. Because the partnership is never planned and can happen spontaneously, the system backfires more often than it works, and I ended up turning off multiplayer and just letting the AI do the work, though this introduces problems of its own. Try to imagine the worst Dark Souls co-op player you’ve ever been paired with Leroy Jenkins-ing into group-after-group of enemies you were hoping to bait out, and you’ll have an idea of how it works. Again, it’s at odds with the seeming desire for Souls-Bourne combat, and turns many battles into a chaotic scrum.

    There are four different NPC companions, but… SURPRISE, they all function exactly the same way, and the game seems to pair you with one or the other randomly. There’s no way to select which one comes along, and they don’t have different fighting styles or utilities. There are also parts of the game that require NPC help to complete, such as doors that require two people to open or ledges that require a boost… but this concept is painfully under-developed. It boils down to a very small handful of locations throughout the game’s linear path where a door will simply say ‘requires companion’s help’ and you’ll just click it and the companion will just open it with you. There’s no gameplay difference between this and the doors you can open on your own, nor is there any puzzle to it or any necessity to try and keep your companion alive so they can make it these areas with you.

    The ‘dungeon’ areas represent the best the game has to offer in terms of tense exploration and combat experiences. However, there are very few of these, maybe 5, and only 2 of these are of any appreciable size or length (or challenge). The vast majority of them are also almost completely linear, with very little in the way of exploration, puzzles, secrets, or anything like that.

    Unlike Souls, Ashen *does* ramp up the difficulty fairly smoothly rather than being a brick wall. But while this may make it appealing as sort of a “Baby’s First Souls” game, the lack of depth or challenge belies what makes the Souls series fun and engaging, and I don’t feel that the combat style really *works* without the depth. Also, the easy early game actually does a disservice to the player, because it doesn’t adequately prepare you mechanically to take the couple of truly difficult moments late in the game. I spent a full 20% of my TOTAL play time in Ashen doing the final boss run, because the preceding gameplay had turned my well-honed Soulsbourne skills into a sloppy mess.

    It may not be fair to keep comparing Ashen to Dark Souls, but the game copies it directly in too many ways to ignore, and the areas where Ashen tries to set itself apart are underwhelming and under-developed. The whole time it felt like half of a game… like at any moment there would be a new enemy or mechanism or story beat that would tie everything together and create a whole picture, but each new part felt like a new ‘half’ without ever making anything complete. Even at the bargain price point, iit still feels too expensive for an experience that’s only half-baked. Those looking for a true Souls-like experience will find it unfulfilling, while newcomers will be met only with vanilla RPG elements and fiddly combat that will have them questioning what the big deal is with this style of game and might even turn them off on exploring Ashen’s predecessors
    Expand
  5. Dec 9, 2018
    9
    Don't trust the zero reviews. "people" raging that it isn't on steam. Smells more like Gaben brand Astro turf than grassroots though. Ashen is a beautifully designed game with a charming style. The game play is Dark-souls-esque-lite and so far the voice acting and the story is AAA quality. Impressive showing from an indie developer. Try it!
  6. Dec 8, 2018
    9
    HARDCORE gamers or Dark Souls fans will enjoy the hell out of this awesom game..
    its soo atmospheric and the graphics is epic like a playable ART..its not easy at all
    and u'll die alot just like DS series..i wont spoil anything but if you r really DS fan..you need
    to play this right now on PC..yes its on EPIC store only but its coming to Steam soon..enjoy
  7. Dec 16, 2018
    9
    The art style is superb and the game's physics even more, the game's world feels alive. The difficulty is challenging and not that hard, which is a plus. Overall an outstanding game.
  8. Dec 10, 2018
    10
    Las 4 reviews con 0 son lamentables y deberian ser eliminadas, uno dice que solo está en W10, lo cual es mentira, a otro le molesta el precio y que no salga en steam, nadie habla del juego, en fin haters hay en todos lados. El juego es excelente, ambientación, estructura de misiones y mazmorras, interesante el concepto de ir haciendo crecer la ciudad. 10/10
  9. Dec 19, 2018
    10
    You would be a fool to miss Ashen. If the point of context has to be dark souls, they made Bright Souls, taking elements and art stylings of a Zelda, or Journey, or Absolver, and implimented them in simple enough a way that the player can access the core game and enjoy it- along side it's souls-roots in difficulty and challenge. It makes for a unique mix of optimism in the darkness asYou would be a fool to miss Ashen. If the point of context has to be dark souls, they made Bright Souls, taking elements and art stylings of a Zelda, or Journey, or Absolver, and implimented them in simple enough a way that the player can access the core game and enjoy it- along side it's souls-roots in difficulty and challenge. It makes for a unique mix of optimism in the darkness as opposed to hopelessness and a wary cautiousness one might feel in Souls. It really is something special and to let opinions about genre get in the way would be a shame. Expand
  10. Dec 21, 2018
    9
    Ashen is a beautiful game.

    The phrase "souls-like" gets thrown around a lot. People use it for Dead Cells, Ori, Hollowknight, Cuphead, pretty much any game that is hard. It makes the phrase utterly useless. But for this game, it is an adequate genre-description. Ashen is a third person perspective action-adventure game with some RPG elements, and it is very much in the same genre as
    Ashen is a beautiful game.

    The phrase "souls-like" gets thrown around a lot. People use it for Dead Cells, Ori, Hollowknight, Cuphead, pretty much any game that is hard. It makes the phrase utterly useless. But for this game, it is an adequate genre-description.

    Ashen is a third person perspective action-adventure game with some RPG elements, and it is very much in the same genre as Dark Souls. Mechanically, it is quite similar, with the main innovations coming from the social interactions allowing for permanent (or at least near-permanent) play with your friends. Albeit in a clunky and purposefully difficult way.

    Graphically, the game retains a very distinctive art style. It has been compared to Absolver, and that is not an unfair comparison. The interpretive style of the art is perfectly in character with the light/dark themes of the levels, and it is in this level design that Ashen masters most cleanly. The use use of light and dark in the design, from art aesthetic to level and creature design, all the way to the aural sensations of the soundtrack and sound effects, are immersive and evocative. They remind me of the same themes in Destiny.

    The game is relatively approachable, and despite the difficulty it never feels truly punishing. It's very narrowly easier than From Software's offerings,though a lot of that ease is the fact that ashen gets the controls right (which took Dark Souls until its 3rd title to do anywhere close to as well). The pacing is more like dark souls and less like Nioh or Bloodborne.

    The whole game takes just around 25 hours for an adequately skilled 'Souls' player. And it is thoroughly enjoyable from beginning to end.

    Mechanically, this game is nearly flawless. Artistically, it is a work of beauty. The multiplayer design is purposeful but bad. Why 'souls' games so utterly hate the idea of making it easy for you to play with your friends is beyond me, but it is what it is. Insofar as difficulty, it is a bit easier than Dark Souls, but on the other hand the controls are handled far better. I found the overall experience better, and I vastly preferred the world Ashen shows to us to that of Dark Souls.

    This is the best 'Souls' available on the market. It's better than Dark souls 1, 2, 3, Demon Souls 1, 2, Bloodborne, Nioh, and The Surge. It is my favorite game in the genre.

    I can't quite call this game perfect, but it is damn close. There are plenty of people who won't like Ashen. And there are also plenty of people who may like it mechanically but won't necessarily appreciate the aesthetic, which is boiled into everything about the game. But if you like the aesthetic, and you if this is your favorite genre, then Ashen is IMO the best game on the market for you.
    Expand
  11. Jan 15, 2019
    6
    If you have ever finished any of the actual Souls games, you will probably not enjoy this. Combat is too limited. Every weapon has the same moveset, No magic system, no leveling up and skill point allocation, AI companion that is pretty unhelpful most of the time, and a story that I just really couldn't care about.

    After about 10 hours of play, I realized that I just wasn't having fun
    If you have ever finished any of the actual Souls games, you will probably not enjoy this. Combat is too limited. Every weapon has the same moveset, No magic system, no leveling up and skill point allocation, AI companion that is pretty unhelpful most of the time, and a story that I just really couldn't care about.

    After about 10 hours of play, I realized that I just wasn't having fun and felt like I would be better off just doing another run of Dark Souls 3.

    I'm not saying its a bad game, its pretty good for what it is, but I guess the actual Souls games have spoiled me.
    Expand
  12. Dec 8, 2018
    9
    It's simple. There are two types of Souls fans - one camp can play and reasonably enjoy Souls clones like Lords of the Fallen, Surge or Darksiders 3. The other camp loathes all clones and can only play Souls games by FromSoft. If you're in the first camp Ashen is absolutely a game for you. It is not as a complete package as Dark Souls is - none of the clones are - but it's very, veryIt's simple. There are two types of Souls fans - one camp can play and reasonably enjoy Souls clones like Lords of the Fallen, Surge or Darksiders 3. The other camp loathes all clones and can only play Souls games by FromSoft. If you're in the first camp Ashen is absolutely a game for you. It is not as a complete package as Dark Souls is - none of the clones are - but it's very, very good. I'm not necessarily a big fan of this kind of stylized art, I prefer more realistic, grounded one, but the combat and atmosphere are so good I can get over it. I'm sure a lot of people will even consider it beautiful. All in all, three hurrays for this genre and all good Souls clones. And kudos to the devs, they made something really special. Expand
  13. Dec 7, 2018
    10
    Excelente juego, promete mucho, un gran rpg que entrega una estética muy diferente a otros videojuego, una gran experiencia para los amantes de los que le gustan los juegos difíciles
  14. Dec 17, 2018
    10
    Dont Listen to Bad Reviews

    This game aint a 10/10 but I still give it a high rating so the overall score increases. This game is good in most aspects. Fighting, Lore, Atmosphere, Difficulty, Rewards, Upgrades,Art Style. This is not a big game (AAA) its a medium game (AA) so ofcourse it doesnt has some things a dark souls has for example a magic system or very nice graphics. The only
    Dont Listen to Bad Reviews

    This game aint a 10/10 but I still give it a high rating so the overall score increases.
    This game is good in most aspects.
    Fighting, Lore, Atmosphere, Difficulty, Rewards, Upgrades,Art Style.
    This is not a big game (AAA) its a medium game (AA) so ofcourse it doesnt has some things a dark souls has for example a magic system or very nice graphics.
    The only thing that could be better in this game is better looking enemies like more creative.
    Thats all
    Expand
  15. Dec 8, 2018
    10
    Absolutely beautiful graphics . Bit like dark souls - You cant just go slashing enemies. Fantastic atmosphere
  16. Dec 17, 2018
    0
    worst game ever made and epicstore provides very little customer support bad decision to put this game on epic store
  17. Dec 17, 2018
    0
    L'indé du jour est un bricolage inspiré des Dark qui soûlent, les infamies sado-masos complètement pétées (de saké) bien connues... sauf qu'ici, "fraîcheur" indé oblige, c'est en 4 couleurs dont du gris et du marron... et les personnages (?) n'ont pas de visage ! c'est un "nouveau" concept. Un con-cept. Avec bien entendu la pettie musique d'ascenseur qui va pas bien.

    Les personnes
    L'indé du jour est un bricolage inspiré des Dark qui soûlent, les infamies sado-masos complètement pétées (de saké) bien connues... sauf qu'ici, "fraîcheur" indé oblige, c'est en 4 couleurs dont du gris et du marron... et les personnages (?) n'ont pas de visage ! c'est un "nouveau" concept. Un con-cept. Avec bien entendu la pettie musique d'ascenseur qui va pas bien.

    Les personnes sensibles et naïves trouveront certanement de la poésie dans ce petit monde de lumière blafarde face aux méchantes ténèbres (quelle originalité, dites-moi !) et la même non-jouabilité des combats avec barre d'endurance vidée en 3 coups, roulades qui vident la barre d'dndurance en 3 fois et coups des ennemis qui vident la barre de vie en 3 coups de cuiller à pot.

    On a -attention- un coéquipier pour nous aider que l'on doit ressusciter parce qu'il est trop con et qui reste aussi bloqué régulièrement à tel ou tel endroit parce qu'il est encore trop con... pour nous suivre. J'ai aussi vu l'un des ennemis à capuche qui restait invulnérable avec à peine un dixième de ses points de vie... voilà qui promet ! Et voilà donc surtout un étron de plus à rajouter à la longue liste (interminable) des étrons indés qui sentent très fort.
    Expand
  18. Dec 11, 2018
    9
    Great Dark Souls inspired game. If you love Dark Souls and have a fast enough video card, you will most likely love this as well.
  19. Jan 1, 2019
    8
    Another silent gem this year. It may not have the hype and big advertisements, but it definitely has a soul, or Soul to be precise. Yes it borrows a lot from Souls genre, but it still has its own coop take on that manner. It has fantastic atmosphere, silent yet secret. Music is awesome, and graphic is stylised to be cartooney-like, without many details (like faces), but very pretty at theAnother silent gem this year. It may not have the hype and big advertisements, but it definitely has a soul, or Soul to be precise. Yes it borrows a lot from Souls genre, but it still has its own coop take on that manner. It has fantastic atmosphere, silent yet secret. Music is awesome, and graphic is stylised to be cartooney-like, without many details (like faces), but very pretty at the same time. Landscapes take your breath away.
    The only gripe i have is with computer AI, while helpful for most of the time, it clearly does stupid thing at certain points (like falling into water or abyss in second dungeon), which is really annoying. I guess its best played with friend.
    Anyway, if not these lesser issues it would have my best score, but as for now its still solid 8/10.
    I really appreciated playing this game, i can clearly recommend it!
    Expand
  20. Dec 16, 2018
    10
    Here to support the devs and the fantastic job that is this game. I want more!! Thank you for the fun :)
  21. Dec 28, 2018
    2
    This is essentially a Dark Souls knockoff done pretty well. However, I cannot recommend it in its current state. It's just too buggy.

    TL;DR: Dreadful AI and abominable camera make this a chore to play. Ashen is designed for co-op, and while the player base hasn't scaled up enough just yet to allow the co-op the developers envisioned, it should pose no problem due to the inclusion of
    This is essentially a Dark Souls knockoff done pretty well. However, I cannot recommend it in its current state. It's just too buggy.

    TL;DR: Dreadful AI and abominable camera make this a chore to play.

    Ashen is designed for co-op, and while the player base hasn't scaled up enough just yet to allow the co-op the developers envisioned, it should pose no problem due to the inclusion of AI companions. However, the follower logic is utterly **** for brains. Succinctly, this game has some of the worst companion AI I've ever come across.

    In a game that's essentially about about scaling rock faces and fighting tough enemies, the last things I'd expect to see are my companion getting stuck behind an ankle-height surface; suiciding into deep water for no apparent reason; or just flat refusing to fight an enemy, instead standing motionless and blocking the only feasible escape. I've also found that, even with multiplayer disabled, AI companions frequently disappear altogether - sometimes in the middle of battle without having been killed. It's incredibly sloppy and a constant cause of deep frustration.

    Secondly, the camera's just woeful. Devs should've kept it simple. Despite having disabled all of the camera's gimmick settings, I find it constantly swinging through 180 degrees during a dodge, to face the enemy, and in the opposite direction from the intended direction of the dodge itself. Inexplicably, this also alters the direction of the dodge after the fact, as well as the screen coordinates. What's worse is that there's apparently no trick or technique to get around this illogical and involuntary pivot, which sees experienced players of Souls-like games rolling towards assailants due to buggy camerawork, or fatally off ledges in an attempt to pivot manually to surmount it in tight spaces.

    The game is visually impressive and sounds great. The story and mechanics are generally fine, but are nothing groundbreaking. As other reviewers have pointed out, the crafting feels overly-simplistic; the selection of weapons & armours limited, and made more so by similar movesets across many weapons; and there is no character building whatsoever. It seems strange to omit something so pivotal to roleplaying games - but the general breadth & depth of Ashen both feel greatly reduced in relation to its competition.

    Although fairly deep in, I haven't yet finished the game, and I'm not sure that I will, either, should those bugs persist - or, worse, be fully intentional. The AI & camera issues are game-breakers, for me, and my overall opinion is that Ashen shouldn't have passed quality assurance ahead of release with good conscience.
    Expand
  22. Dec 9, 2018
    10
    Everything in this game looks, plays, sounds perfect! Simple combat system for an astonishing game!
  23. Dec 10, 2018
    10
    If you like souls games you'll like this.
    It has everything you can expect from the genre, gameplay is smooth, the atmosphere is fantastic, some parts are really challenging.
    It's the release all of us have been waiting for now the dark souls pure sang series has been terminated and unlike some others I'm not going to mention here this game does not mess with the essence of a souls game
    If you like souls games you'll like this.
    It has everything you can expect from the genre, gameplay is smooth, the atmosphere is fantastic, some parts are really challenging.
    It's the release all of us have been waiting for now the dark souls pure sang series has been terminated and unlike some others I'm not going to mention here this game does not mess with the essence of a souls game and realises that adopting the format is more than adopting the combat.
    Expand
  24. Dec 16, 2018
    9
    This game is essentially a copy of dark souls, right down to the story. It adds enough of its own to be interesting and the combat is enjoyable. Somewhat short though. My two biggest gripes are the respawning enemies and how weapons are upgraded, other than that it is a good game.
  25. Dec 12, 2018
    9
    I'm a big fan of Dark Souls. I love the pacing and exploration of FromSoftware titles. When I started my adventure on Ashen I initially I wasn't too impressed. After a few hours immersed in the world that changed. This is a wonderful RPG that I believe will captivate Souls fans. Most Souls fans have already played Lords of the Fallen, Nioh, and The Surge. Ashen is closer to Dark Souls thanI'm a big fan of Dark Souls. I love the pacing and exploration of FromSoftware titles. When I started my adventure on Ashen I initially I wasn't too impressed. After a few hours immersed in the world that changed. This is a wonderful RPG that I believe will captivate Souls fans. Most Souls fans have already played Lords of the Fallen, Nioh, and The Surge. Ashen is closer to Dark Souls than any of those games, without being a total copycat. Highly recommend. Expand
  26. Sal
    Dec 8, 2018
    3
    An average soulslike, thats only stand out due is a unique aesthetic. If you are looking for a new soulslike, hit up The Surge, Nioh and Lords of the Fallen before this.
  27. Dec 11, 2018
    9
    Great game, love the look of the game. But not a "great" soulslike game, just a good action RPG game
  28. Dec 13, 2018
    9
    The game is beautiful. The story is decent. No beating around the bush, it's obviously heavily inspired by Dark Souls, but I think it stands on it's own. It's fun. I feel like the difficulty is a little uneven - your companion makes the beginning pretty easy and then at some point it gets a lot harder. Probably never as hard as Dark Souls, but still challenging.

    Overall, I really
    The game is beautiful. The story is decent. No beating around the bush, it's obviously heavily inspired by Dark Souls, but I think it stands on it's own. It's fun. I feel like the difficulty is a little uneven - your companion makes the beginning pretty easy and then at some point it gets a lot harder. Probably never as hard as Dark Souls, but still challenging.

    Overall, I really enjoyed it - I loved exploring the world and the combat.

    There are hard core Souls fans who will say it's a crappy rip off - but I say that's crap. I think a lot of people will like this better than Souls, it's subjective.

    Then there are the haters who seem personally attacked that this is not on Steam, to which I say: grow up.
    Expand
  29. Dec 24, 2018
    6
    I'm sorry i really want to like this game but the battle mechanics are way too constrictive. It's got great graphics and atmosphere, but i can't shake off the feeling that i'm playing a watered down DS clone. Also, too little weapon variety. Clubs and Axes only. Could be a design choice but i don't know.
  30. Dec 16, 2018
    7
    Красивый мир, интересные враги. Просто путешествие без лишних побрекушек.
  31. Dec 18, 2018
    5
    El juego en si esta bien, si lo que buscas es pasar el rato en un lindo lugar. El apartado artístico como musical es genial, me encanto. Pero si vamos a lo que es el combate y dificultad , deja mucho que desear... Hay muchos enemigos que repiten sus patrones de ataques, muy poca variedad. Los jefes son muy simples tambien, carecen de dificultad, prácticamente puedes quedarte paradoEl juego en si esta bien, si lo que buscas es pasar el rato en un lindo lugar. El apartado artístico como musical es genial, me encanto. Pero si vamos a lo que es el combate y dificultad , deja mucho que desear... Hay muchos enemigos que repiten sus patrones de ataques, muy poca variedad. Los jefes son muy simples tambien, carecen de dificultad, prácticamente puedes quedarte parado enfrente de ellos y spamear ataques hasta que estos mueran (Ya que el juego te provee de muchos objetos para que puedas aguantar golpizas sin mas.). Otra cosa que me parecio muy tedioso es el sistema que tiene de "cooperativo" que te obliguen si o si tener a un compañero siempre, para llegar a un lugar que no puedes acceder por ti solo o abrir una puerta (Ya que en situaciones requieres de un compañero para abrirlas.) Personalmente juego este tipo de juegos por el mero placer de ir solo contra el mundo (Se puede desactivar el cooperativo como la IA para ir en solitario, pero esto no quita que la tengas que volver a activar a cada rato para hacer las cosas que previamente mencione.).

    En fin, la pase bien con el juego aunque me quedo con ese pequeño gusto de "decepción" esperaba mucho mas del titulo, siento que podían haber ofrecer mucho mas... Podía haber sido un claro sucesor de la saga Souls... Pero se quedaron a mitad del camino.
    Expand
  32. Feb 2, 2019
    9
    As a Souls games fan, this game drew me in and before you knew it, I sank 3,5 hours into it before I even checked the clock.
    Great pacing, lower difficulty as compared to Souls games due to having a companion for the most time. Beautiful artstyle, moody atmosphere and music.
    This is a gem out of nowhere. Great work, A44!
  33. Jan 28, 2019
    9
    Haiku Review: It fills a hole left / by a certain game's absence / And fill it it does
    Favorite Thing: It's a fun world to explore with lots of challenging combat.
    Least Favorite Thing: They give you a choice between one-handed and two-handed weapons but then force you to carry a lantern around, eliminating that choice. Date Completed: 2019-01-27 Playtime: ~ 16h Enjoyment: 9/10
    Haiku Review: It fills a hole left / by a certain game's absence / And fill it it does
    Favorite Thing: It's a fun world to explore with lots of challenging combat.
    Least Favorite Thing: They give you a choice between one-handed and two-handed weapons but then force you to carry a lantern around, eliminating that choice.

    Date Completed: 2019-01-27
    Playtime: ~ 16h
    Enjoyment: 9/10
    Recommendation: It's a solid Souls-like.
    Expand
  34. Jan 31, 2019
    6
    Ashen is a great looking game and an enjoyable experience, but there is absolutely nothing going on under the surface to make it stand out. It’s a decent game that’s worth giving a shot if you’re interested and have money to spend, but don’t expect much from it. The game suffers severely from it’s over-simplification, and it needed to have way more enemies, or weapons, or items, orAshen is a great looking game and an enjoyable experience, but there is absolutely nothing going on under the surface to make it stand out. It’s a decent game that’s worth giving a shot if you’re interested and have money to spend, but don’t expect much from it. The game suffers severely from it’s over-simplification, and it needed to have way more enemies, or weapons, or items, or SOMETHING to switch it up a bit. I mean, you can very easily beat the game with the starting weapon. There has to be more progression than that. Expand
  35. Jan 12, 2019
    6
    Ashen is a decent game, but as a "soulslike" it feels very limited compared to Dark Souls. Now it's not really fair to expect the same length or depth as DS as the A44 has fewer resources available than From Software. However, even with that in mind, I would say it fails to deliver a satisfying experience (at $40). Here's a breakdown of my impressions after 1 playthrough:

    --Gameplay--
    Ashen is a decent game, but as a "soulslike" it feels very limited compared to Dark Souls. Now it's not really fair to expect the same length or depth as DS as the A44 has fewer resources available than From Software. However, even with that in mind, I would say it fails to deliver a satisfying experience (at $40). Here's a breakdown of my impressions after 1 playthrough:

    --Gameplay--
    +Few bugs 1 month after release
    +Some fun platforming
    +Decent action & feels good to swing weapons
    +A stat system that does not require a wiki to understand
    +A decent selection of weapon move-sets
    -Weapons are entirely composed of axes, clubs and spears. As a result, they look really similar.
    -Weapons are really expensive to upgrade, which doesn't really encourage trying out many of them (I could maintain 4 without any extra grinding)
    -Enemy variety is low. You will encounter most enemy types (90% humanoid) in the first area and then just tougher versions as you progress.
    -Bosses generally don't have much depth to them. They have 3-4 attack patterns each, which take maybe 1-2 battles to encounter and learn to avoid. After that the fight is just patiently whittling down the health bar.

    --Controls & Interfaces--
    +Has the same controls as Dark Souls (which I find are good enough)
    -Both the inventory and storage are too small to hold all of the items & gear the game throws at you. I'm not even sure why they did this, as you can collect roughly 80% of the gear before having to throw things away. So why not make it 100%? This doesn't make things harder, just tedious.

    --Environments & Level Design--
    +A decent collection of areas
    -50% of them are in the dark with a torch that will illuminate maybe 8m in front of the player. Allows for a ridiculous number of ambushes that just get plain annoying to deal with.
    -The game's dungeons are incredibly long (~2hours to explore), but don't really feature enough variety in them. Just endless running through samey corridors with forgettable many enemies guarding them.
    -Encourages (and partially) enforces a very linear exploration (nothing like DS' interwoven level design).

    --Art--
    +interesting unique style
    -not enough assets, resulting in varyingly blatant copying and pasting of structures, models, etc. throughout the game.

    --Soundtrack--
    -underwhelming in almost every regard
    -actually deteriorates most boss battles

    --Multiplayer--
    +An interesting approach to make co-op more dynamic.
    -You get an entirety of 2 gestures to communicate with. So it's hard to reach any understanding.
    -This model of multiplayer requires a sizeable number of players (which there aren't) to work well.
    -No PVP

    Overall my issue with this game can be summarised by two words: too tedious. The developers somehow managed to take the challenge out of "soulslike" formula and replaced it with an endless grind through uninteresting areas with uninteresting encounters. I think it would have been a better game if they had lopped of 10 hours of gameplay in favour of polishing what they already had.
    Expand
  36. Jan 7, 2019
    8
    Ashen presents us with a captivating world struggling to emerge from darkness and reach a new era of Light.

    Along a beautiful open world with really beautiful and captivating pictures, we will have to go running small errands to different NPCs. These messages are very simple, and are presented as an excuse to develop the mysterious history of each of them and thus move forward along the
    Ashen presents us with a captivating world struggling to emerge from darkness and reach a new era of Light.

    Along a beautiful open world with really beautiful and captivating pictures, we will have to go running small errands to different NPCs. These messages are very simple, and are presented as an excuse to develop the mysterious history of each of them and thus move forward along the map and the adventure.

    The gameplay is Dark Souls style, but more simplified, as it is only based on melee combat, with one hand weapons, two hands (axes, halberds, mallets, hammers and flocks) and the ability to shoot spears. By killing enemies, we get "scum" that we can use to improve certain equipment or buy various objects. These scum points will not be used to improve the character, since our character will improve his health and energy automatically as we complete missions. In this case, instead of bonfires, we will activate some monoliths, and through some of them (not in all) we will be able to make a quick trip thanks to a creature that transports us between them different points of the map. Each time we die we must start from the last monolith activated and lose the points obtained, having the option to recover them if we get back to the point where we were killed.

    Throughout the adventure we may accompany some of the NPCs to help and support us during the fighting, there is the possibility of disabling this option and travel alone. It also has multiplayer, which will allow us to be accompanied by (or accompany) other players.

    Although there is not a huge amount of different enemies, if they are of varied designs. Also we will have to defeat several final bosses to be able to progress in the adventure.

    In short, Ashen is a game with a gameplay inspired by the Souls formula but with a more open and less labyrinthine level design, a humble but very careful game, with a mysterious story and endearing characters, with a very moving artistic design that constantly immerses us in beautiful landscapes and a few huge dungeons, able to create, partly also thanks to an excellent and relaxing soundtrack, very dreamlike atmospheres.
    Expand
  37. Jan 12, 2019
    1
    Anyone who rates this above a 6 has not played past the first three areas of the game.
  38. Jan 14, 2019
    6
    Pros: +Graphics +Art +Sound +Story
    Cons: -Combat -Controls -AI
    "LIGHT SOULS?" Let's address the DS comparison. I played through and enjoyed the Souls games but I'm not a diehard fan so I feel I can be objective here. They took the "you will die a lot" part right...but completely missed the "learn attack patterns / mechanics and feel a sense of accomplishment afterwards" part. The
    Pros: +Graphics +Art +Sound +Story
    Cons: -Combat -Controls -AI

    "LIGHT SOULS?" Let's address the DS comparison. I played through and enjoyed the Souls games but I'm not a diehard fan so I feel I can be objective here. They took the "you will die a lot" part right...but completely missed the "learn attack patterns / mechanics and feel a sense of accomplishment afterwards" part. The difficulty is not something you can learn from and conquer, it's just unbalanced. Also, your AI companion is terrible and usually gets in the way. For such a graphically polished game, there are a lot of bugs.

    The story is interesting and it does have a lighter, polished tone. I love the world this game builds. The graphics are great, art style is beautiful, sound design is top notch.

    I do believe most main reviewers hyped it up a bit too much before fully exploring it. There are glaring control and gameplay flaws. Control: a couple issues with the way the keys are bound. Completely counter-intuitive. This isn't a PC port so the controls should have 100% flexibility but you can't even remap those keys properly. Gameplay: Weapons and stats are unbalanced - instead of inviting different playstyles it forces you to choose between the "strongest" choice or a weaker one. Not to mention a huge lack of variety between weapons & armor.

    Now usually I'm a "enjoy the game as a whole, don't worry about the small stuff" kind of guy, but personally I couldn't move past these issues.

    GOOD GAME FOR:
    -Fans of art, story and graphic design
    -Casual "pick em up start playing" and "put them down and move on" type
    -People who don't care about combat mechanics

    BAD GAME FOR:
    -HEAVY Dark Souls fan
    -"Get really into and really good at the game" type
    -People who care about combat mechanics
    Expand
  39. Mar 18, 2019
    10
    Ashen is an extremely fun and addictive souls like with an interesting story and lore, amazing gameplay and a beautiful art style, I've never played dark souls so I can't compare the two games and i've heard from people who are fans of souls like games that there are better ones out there, however, coming from a person who isn't a big souls like fan, and this is purely my opinion, Ashen isAshen is an extremely fun and addictive souls like with an interesting story and lore, amazing gameplay and a beautiful art style, I've never played dark souls so I can't compare the two games and i've heard from people who are fans of souls like games that there are better ones out there, however, coming from a person who isn't a big souls like fan, and this is purely my opinion, Ashen is simply the best game I have ever played, I can't recommend it enough Expand
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Jan 17, 2019
    70
    Ashen is a souls-like game with a particular focus on the co-op multiplayer. Sadly this feature rarely works as intended, but despite its flaws, the game developed by A44 is still an enjoyable variation to the formula created by Miyazaki and From Software.
  2. Jan 13, 2019
    78
    Ashen is a decent proposition for Soulslike fans and it may be the ideal choice for someone who wishes to get into the genre before going deeper. Despite the simplicity of its mechanisms and the lack of depth / replayability, it is very enjoyable for both Dark Souls beginners and experts.
  3. 80
    Ashen is one of the most approachable and well-accomplished Souls-likes we’ve seen to date. It offers a bewitching world to discover with a character all its own. It’s unfortunate that one of its best and most unique features, companions, isn’t in a very good state right now. I believe this’ll get fixed with time.