User Score
4.3

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 207 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 207

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 30, 2018
    3
    Great concept but poor design!
    Even basic features are missing like adjusting the gamma after you enter the game. Only possible from the main menü. Which is crucial in such a game where darkness plays a huge role.
    The game mechanics are very irritating. Often hiding main items and objectives behind map elements which are invisible in the shadow or darkness. Some would call it
    Great concept but poor design!
    Even basic features are missing like adjusting the gamma after you enter the game. Only possible from the main menü. Which is crucial in such a game where darkness plays a huge role.

    The game mechanics are very irritating. Often hiding main items and objectives behind map elements which are invisible in the shadow or darkness. Some would call it "difficulty" I only call it cheap design.
    Expand
  2. May 29, 2018
    0
    A disappointment on all levels, and the developers squabbled their chances to make a unique game by submitting to censorship. A shameful display.
  3. Jun 8, 2018
    1
    Complete broken trash. It looks like trash, controls like trash, and is riddled with game-breaking bugs that will stop your game and force you to reload, losing maybe 15-30 minutes of progress at a time. These bugs are VERY frequent and easily recreatable, I have no idea how they didn't catch them in testing, if there was ever any.

    made an account just to rate this hot garbage, what an
    Complete broken trash. It looks like trash, controls like trash, and is riddled with game-breaking bugs that will stop your game and force you to reload, losing maybe 15-30 minutes of progress at a time. These bugs are VERY frequent and easily recreatable, I have no idea how they didn't catch them in testing, if there was ever any.

    made an account just to rate this hot garbage, what an absolute disappointment.
    Expand
  4. Jun 13, 2018
    4
    Keep an eye out for all the fake user reviews here. There are a ton, most of them say nearly the same thing, Best Suvrival Horror, like Outlast, ETC. This is not a SURVIVAL horror game and not like Outlast. Seems the developers are getting desperate. The game is a huge disappointment, nothing like the early trailers, bugs galore and boring game play.
  5. Jul 11, 2018
    3
    Originaly, agony showed many potencial becoming maybe one of the more expected games when it was announced, here we are, 2018, and we got a great concept that sadly it got poorly executed.
  6. Jun 8, 2018
    6
    Agony
    Not as bad as everyone makes it out to be
    but still annoying Agony is a 12 hour long horror stealth game where you play as a spirit trying to get out of hell you start inside of a body and youll run into creepy characters as youre running through the beginning area collecting an offer to unlock the gate and move on… things are enjoyable and creepy enough at first.. feeling like
    Agony
    Not as bad as everyone makes it out to be
    but still annoying
    Agony is a 12 hour long horror stealth game where you play as a spirit trying to get out of hell
    you start inside of a body and youll run into creepy characters as youre running through the beginning area collecting an offer to unlock the gate and move on…
    things are enjoyable and creepy enough at first.. feeling like this is going to be some demonic walking simulator..
    and then demons are introduced.. you’re thrown into a maze to collect 4 skulls and this is when you realize you’re in for a bunch of trial and error stealth frustration…
    This games biggest problem is that it lacks polish..
    though the developers clearly tried to make a good game here.. it doesn’t feel rushed through the entire journey… it feels a bit like an ambitious try from fans of demons and such…..
    naked body parts and blood all over the place
    There are mirrors here which act as your checkpoint.. they have to be found though, they don’t automatically activate… you can punish yourself by making them break when you die 3 times, but I kept that feature off.. I kept it as a respawn point… and every spot in the game except for this beginning maze progress is saved even if you die…
    but no progress being saved here makes this probably the hardest part of the entire game.. its right at the beginning. So if you get past this you’re pretty good to go…
    then the game gets into a lot of finding the right symbol to draw on a wall and break a seal while of course there are enemies around that cant see.. but they feel heat so you have to be carful with torches, and they have insane hearing…
    going through this world is actually enjoyable.. every location feels unique and challenging..
    the objective is mixed up between finding items finding the correct symbol and pure stealth…
    and if youre caught.. youre not out of the game yet.. there are characters crawling all over these levels, and if you interact with them youll pull la bag off of their head.. this allows one of these lucky folks to become your new body.. if you die you have a limited time to get to one of these bodies or be taken all the way back to your last checkpoint… and by limited I mean very limited…
    and towards the middle of the game youll even be able to possess the demons…
    the issue with this game though is its mechanic balancing that stops the game from being as fun as it could be.. that makes this game a frustrating chore..
    There are bugs here where in the maze my character wouldn’t squeeze into a hiding spot.. I got caught on a rock,, the game froze multiple times in the same area not activating a cutscene causing me to lose tons of progress.. but brokenness and bug aside..
    the mechanics feel as though they were made to intentionally infuriate the player..
    you have a stamina meter… which feels pointless because of how fast it runs out..
    you’ve got about 10 seconds of run time.. not nearly enough to run from an enemy that has spotted you.. this means no intense or thrilling chases.. no stories of that time the demon was so close to getting you but you got away.. if youre spotted youre dead.. so its basically here just to help make running through levels a little faster.. but again you get like 10 seconds and it takes another 20 to cool down..
    when you do die, again you have a limited time to find a new body which fine… what isn’t fine is that the game also later ads soul eaters that mean insta death with no warning, no way around them.. they just randomly catch you…
    when youre a demon you have a limited amount of time though your time is increased by eating humans.. problem is there isn’t nearly enough humans for you to continue as a demon for more than a few seconds.. theres rarely even a new body around to possess once time is up
    making this mechanic feel practically useless… if you are a demon and manage to make a great deal of progress you cant interact with collectables or even checkpoint mirrors…
    the mechanics just go against the potential fun of the game making it really hard to enjoy at times..
    though I did ultimately still enjoy this game..
    this by no stretch is a must play game, however I feel like its being unfairly represented as some awful game that it isn’t..
    it has its problems.. but there was heart put into this game
    I give Agony
    a 6.5/10
    Expand
  7. Jun 28, 2018
    3
    Better than Inner Chains. But still not good! This game without interesting story, without good gameplay and without good texture, just soup and poor models. Boring game about running thought boring similar levels.
  8. Jun 19, 2018
    0
    Nice idea but the most crappiest game I ever played. First of all the poor level design and the crappy game mechanics - so confusing you just see the loading screen again and again.
    Fun?! Horror?! - not at all.

    Waste of money and time.

    If this is about hell then hell is only the developer studio and how the treated their campaign to make this game.

    Never ever again!
  9. May 31, 2018
    4
    It's "Inner Chains" all over again....
    I had high hopes for this game. Great atmosphere and interesting core concept with sluggish and boring gameplay. As for horror part it's lacking too. This game tries to lure people with great art and level design and falls flat on it's face when you start playing. Buy on big discount only.
    I had my fingers crossed for "Scorn"
  10. Jun 3, 2018
    4
    O jogo é muito bonito, os cenários são muito ricos em detalhe isso é impossivel dizer o contrario, é uma ótima representação visual do inferno porem parece que os desenvolvedores focaram 100% no cenário e esqueceram de fazer a gameplay, é serio eu nunca vi uma movimentaçao mais tosca do que essa presente nesse jogo, o Personagem buga em tudo a todo o momento como se tivesse paredesO jogo é muito bonito, os cenários são muito ricos em detalhe isso é impossivel dizer o contrario, é uma ótima representação visual do inferno porem parece que os desenvolvedores focaram 100% no cenário e esqueceram de fazer a gameplay, é serio eu nunca vi uma movimentaçao mais tosca do que essa presente nesse jogo, o Personagem buga em tudo a todo o momento como se tivesse paredes invisíveis no mapa inteiro, as possesoes também são problemáticas e a inteligencia artificial dos inimigos é quase nula e os checkpoints são muito distantes um do outro, eu sei que eles fizeram isso para deixar o game mais desafiador mas isso acaba frustrando muito, no geral o game é muito bonito graficamente falando mas falha na gameplay e em todo o resto. Decepcionante. Expand
  11. May 31, 2018
    3
    Graphically the game wasn't anything to write home about, lots of dark red, blue, etc., visually I can at least say is hell indeed, very disorienting, not many graphics settings and resolutions are only from 1280 x 720/768 in my case, may not be a big deal for people who like huge resolutions but for people like me it was a pain, windowed mode is borderless and always on top, FOV isGraphically the game wasn't anything to write home about, lots of dark red, blue, etc., visually I can at least say is hell indeed, very disorienting, not many graphics settings and resolutions are only from 1280 x 720/768 in my case, may not be a big deal for people who like huge resolutions but for people like me it was a pain, windowed mode is borderless and always on top, FOV is horribly implemented, going past 70 (which the slider has no snapping so you have to manually adjust it on the .ini file) makes the game look like your character is perpetually doing limbo dance, either way, it gave me motion sickness.

    Model quality, aside from the censorship on lady parts, horrible, I know is hell, but I would have expected to see more attractive females here and there sometimes, as an amateur 3D artist I am 90% sure these models came from minimal tampering of the MakeHuman software, the only decent looking model is the face-gina demons, one of the bosses BTW seems to be prone to losing all textures in certain parts of their body, I am pretty sure someone making SFM porn is already refining the models from the game, the priestess and the goddess look very bad, as if they were ridden with graphical glitches despite their looks being 100% intentional.

    Gameplay is very simple, walking simulator with stealth segments and a few platform segments, your goal is basically to collect stuff or go from point A to point B, you also collect logs here and there, there is a skill system that so far had only 3 useless skills you could level up, I saw no difference when using one of them at max, the death mechanic was OK for the most part, still prone to glitches where you get stuck and you have to restart from checkpoints, collision detection is wonky and sometimes it will lead to the same problem of getting stuck, you walk very slow and have the stamina of a 60 year old with compulsive smoking habits, doesn't matter if you are possessing a different body, I have never been a fan of stamina systems when the default speed is a very slow walk.

    Sound is OK I guess, when it comes to stealth at least there were some cues, music was a little generic for a "hellish" game, NPC dialogue is repetitive, I would have liked if the logs were narrated at least.

    I'd buy that for a dollar... maybe.
    Expand
  12. May 31, 2018
    0
    Without question or doubt there is censorship in the game (not just the two endings that would have resulted in a supposed A/O rating by the ESRB) but the final release game itself.

    By censoring things out, even small things, then claiming to have a patch in the works to undo such things, then to claim that "due to legal reasons" it wont happen, you have outright lied to not only your
    Without question or doubt there is censorship in the game (not just the two endings that would have resulted in a supposed A/O rating by the ESRB) but the final release game itself.

    By censoring things out, even small things, then claiming to have a patch in the works to undo such things, then to claim that "due to legal reasons" it wont happen, you have outright lied to not only your backers, but early adopters of the game.
    Expand
  13. Jun 3, 2018
    5
    Tiring of hiding from the seemingly looking demons. Undeveloped locations, very similar to each other and not as terrible as it seemed, a pity because it promised to be terrible, and it is miserable.
  14. May 30, 2018
    3
    All shock, and no substance. The take on hell is amazing, but the underlying gameplay is frustrating.
  15. May 31, 2018
    3
    Closest thing to a Hell simulator you'll ever see-- and not in a good way.
    Great idea and setting are completely ruined by monotonous, boring, gameplay. You can barely see 20 feet ahead of yourself, the environments all look the same, the level design is atrocious, and there is basically no story. SKIP THIS ONE.
  16. May 31, 2018
    0
    A este juego le falta mucho aún para salir en condiciones al mercado. Absolutamente no se asimila a los trailers, Su resolución nativa del juego es muy baja. Las Texturas parecen ir a 480p reescaladas a 1080p , probé hasta en 4k Ultra el juego, y parece algo del 2003, usando DSR a 4k o 1080..
    No se puede apoyar bajo ningún motivo que un juego con contenido Gore/demoniaco para "Adultos"
    A este juego le falta mucho aún para salir en condiciones al mercado. Absolutamente no se asimila a los trailers, Su resolución nativa del juego es muy baja. Las Texturas parecen ir a 480p reescaladas a 1080p , probé hasta en 4k Ultra el juego, y parece algo del 2003, usando DSR a 4k o 1080..
    No se puede apoyar bajo ningún motivo que un juego con contenido Gore/demoniaco para "Adultos" venga con Censura, no tengo muy claro que problema tuvieron, pero son unos cobardes en no sacar al menos un parche para el que quiera jugar sin la jodida Censura, tratan a la gente de idiotas, Además hoy en día cualquier niño de 8 años tiene un GTA V o un call of duty, con sus micropagos enfermizos y adictivos que se merecen una prohibición. Pero eso no lo censuran nunca ah ?

    Quisieron abarcar mucho lanzando el juego en distintas plataformas, todo ese dinero que les regalaron en kickstarter, lo usaron para sacarlo en consola también, no es malo, pero en este caso perjudicaron el desarrollo del videojuego, es un insulto que no hayan contratado a gente con ese dinero para hacer un buen producto, es un juego que está 10 años atrás en su apartado técnico, hoy tenemos una brutalidad de tecnología y se puede hacer mucho más, son unos flojos y ladrones.
    Expand
  17. Jun 7, 2018
    2
    What a mess. Poor design, technical issues, and mundane gameplay make this game a pure slog
  18. Jun 3, 2018
    3
    Many users are artificially trying to inflate the score of the game. At best this game is a 4/10.
    1. The graphics are downgraded for the sake of consoles.
    2. The models ingame compared to the demo are scaled down on a scale of 1 to 3. 3. Much of the background details from the demo have been removed and reworked making the game bland as opposed to the colorfull demo. (Probably to fit on
    Many users are artificially trying to inflate the score of the game. At best this game is a 4/10.
    1. The graphics are downgraded for the sake of consoles.
    2. The models ingame compared to the demo are scaled down on a scale of 1 to 3.
    3. Much of the background details from the demo have been removed and reworked making the game bland as opposed to the colorfull demo. (Probably to fit on consoles, because consoles have relatively low specs.)
    4. The game has been censored removing nipples and female genitalia despite being rated 18+ and being advertized troughout its campaing as a game that will not be censored by the devs.
    5. The devs lied about the state of the game and censorship on multiple occasions then played victim.
    6. The devs did not keep their promise to give all their backers keys for the game resulting in a lot of backers not getting the game they payed money for on its release date.
    7. The game came with game breaking bugs making the game hard to play the first day of release.

    Do not fall for the 10/10 ratings. This is balant abuse of the rating system in order to increase sales for a game that made many errors both PR wice and action-wise. Wait a week or two so that the devs can atleast patch the game so that the game is atleast somewhat playable.
    Expand
  19. May 30, 2018
    3
    Pour faire bref, voilà à quoi se résume l’aventure pour les plus courageux d’entre vous… Jouez à Agony et vous ramasserez des torches pour mettre le feu à des sortes de branches d’arbres… Vous ramasserez des cranes que vous devrez poser sur les bons piédestaux afin de pouvoir passer une porte, fuir des Succubes à gros nichons, activer des points de contrôles buggés, retrouver votre corpsPour faire bref, voilà à quoi se résume l’aventure pour les plus courageux d’entre vous… Jouez à Agony et vous ramasserez des torches pour mettre le feu à des sortes de branches d’arbres… Vous ramasserez des cranes que vous devrez poser sur les bons piédestaux afin de pouvoir passer une porte, fuir des Succubes à gros nichons, activer des points de contrôles buggés, retrouver votre corps après une mort si encore votre spectre ne se retrouve pas coincer par le décor, dessiner des symboles avec votre sang parce que c’est ça l’enfer, du dessin de symboles sataniques avec votre sang ! Vous passerez aussi votre temps à ramasser des notes, des statuettes à plus savoir quoi en faire tout en tentant de lutter face au choc visuel que procure le titre. Il n’y a pas à dire, MadMind Studio a réussi son pari en proposant une expérience Ô combien horrifique, nous étions proche de l’agonie devant notre écran en jouant à ce jeu, une expérience que nous ne vous conseillons pas même à petit prix.
    On s'ennuie... littéralement et le gameplay est vraiment une horreur !
    Expand
  20. May 31, 2018
    2
    really bad game what a waste of time and money . it's actually sad that people gave them money to make this .
  21. Jun 14, 2018
    0
    Game is not what you saw on youtube videos. It is not what developers said. It is a hell. And not with the good meaning. Avoid it even if they give it free.
  22. Jun 17, 2018
    4
    Запустил, немного поиграл, и через какое-то время показалось, что выключен монитор. Оказалось, что это в игре так темно. Попытался сделать максимальную яркость - не помогло. Не вижу смысла играть в игры, где большую часть геймплея нужно идти в слепую.Запустил, немного поиграл, и через какое-то время показалось, что выключен монитор. Оказалось, что это в игре так темно. Попытался сделать максимальную яркость - не помогло. Не вижу смысла играть в игры, где большую часть геймплея нужно идти в слепую.
  23. May 29, 2018
    0
    I was hyped for a new horror game, and from what i saw this game was promising. Sadly this game does anything but deliver an " Agonizing " gaming experience. you are going to get a rather long campaign of horrendously low FPS, screen tearing, un-intuitive controls, poor story, and constantly corrupting save files. Ultimately this game was just a cash grab that was leaning on the shockI was hyped for a new horror game, and from what i saw this game was promising. Sadly this game does anything but deliver an " Agonizing " gaming experience. you are going to get a rather long campaign of horrendously low FPS, screen tearing, un-intuitive controls, poor story, and constantly corrupting save files. Ultimately this game was just a cash grab that was leaning on the shock horror theme that the game is centered around. Its all flash and no substance, and they don't even capture the "flash" very well. Just ignore this title and spread the word that this is just the horror game equivalent of No Man's Sky. Expand
  24. May 29, 2018
    7
    Great Graphics , and art direction , and a great fetish fuel. As a game it sucks tho
  25. Jun 4, 2018
    0
    Poor desing. Terrible gameplay, just stupid horror imagery flooding the screen. Just disgusting and stupid game for stupid "edgy" people.
  26. May 29, 2018
    10
    What can I say? Great game, amazing design and the best vision of hell ever.
  27. May 29, 2018
    8
    The game is running just fine on literally recommended settings, the atmosphere and the lore are really matching the overall experience, expected by the audience that it was intended to , the game is having a troublesome launch because of censorship issues, but i must say that everything that they have promised, they did just fine, and most of the "reviewers", are damning the game for justThe game is running just fine on literally recommended settings, the atmosphere and the lore are really matching the overall experience, expected by the audience that it was intended to , the game is having a troublesome launch because of censorship issues, but i must say that everything that they have promised, they did just fine, and most of the "reviewers", are damning the game for just that, it is running fine at RECOMMENDED SETTINGS, and it is a overall good experience.
    8/10
    Expand
  28. Jun 10, 2018
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Game Over Agony ´ Expand
  29. May 29, 2018
    9
    Great game! Don't listen trolls! Just try! It is true about a few bugs but patch is coming. However Agony is the best survival-horror game since several years.
  30. May 29, 2018
    10
    Best survival horror game ever! I was waiting for this game since Outlast, and its even better!
  31. May 30, 2018
    10
    Difficult and dark, no weapons, good atmosphere, seems like walking in a never ending maze.

    This how a game should be!

    Running it on a PC for, the first 3 hours of gameplay and no problems at all.

    I cannot understand all this wankers and trolls complaining, I just can't
  32. Jun 12, 2018
    9
    Great Graphics, amazing design. What can I say? Best survival horror, and games of the year
  33. May 30, 2018
    10
    Excellent horror game ... !!! I advise everyone to get acquainted...Graphics and Atmosphere in the game are excellent ...
  34. May 30, 2018
    10
    This game is outstanding. Very horror-like mood and atmosphere. The elements are quite real and many of them are in motion. The overall graphics is high quality. The story is quite extraordinary. Congrats to the developers. Good job. Worth the price. Zero technical problems, latency or something like this. But I have a good PC indeed. Good luck everyone and see you in hell !
  35. May 30, 2018
    10
    Pour un jeu survival horror je n'ai jamais quelque chose d'aussi bien. Une vrai claque. Le jeu créé un stress chaque virage peut être un vrai danger.Le niveau du labyrinthe est excellent. On avance en tâtonnant et une énorme partie de ce niveau est sonore. Des cris, des gens qui psalmodient, le bruit des sabots des créatures démoniaques. On est faible est on le récent. Pourtant il fautPour un jeu survival horror je n'ai jamais quelque chose d'aussi bien. Une vrai claque. Le jeu créé un stress chaque virage peut être un vrai danger.Le niveau du labyrinthe est excellent. On avance en tâtonnant et une énorme partie de ce niveau est sonore. Des cris, des gens qui psalmodient, le bruit des sabots des créatures démoniaques. On est faible est on le récent. Pourtant il faut passer, résoudre les énigmes, faire le bon choix.

    Aujourd'hui le moindre jeu ne propose qu'une solution couloir avec une seul résolution.
    la tout est permis.

    Félicitations.

    Bien sur le jeu est beau une petite claque graphique.
    Juste un petit soucis pour moi avec l'animation des pnj humain qui ne fait pas 2018.
    Bon par contre les pnjs empalé de la tête au pied et qui vivent encore en hurlant de douleur....j’avoue JAIME ! GG a Madmind studio
    Expand
  36. Jun 17, 2018
    8
    It's hard to appreciate a game with as much bugs as Agony has, but the game is really beautiful. Unfortunately the console versions of this game got it the worst with the framerate and graphical issues. If you can get past the bugs in the game, it's amazing
  37. Jun 11, 2018
    9
    Yes very good game ,I have on console and PC and very good atmosphere ,most bugs fixed now
  38. Jun 4, 2018
    1
    Forced **** sheet. COCATb. Your review must be at least 75 characters long.
  39. Jun 19, 2018
    10
    Very good game. First of all its not a horror and not very stealth. It is an action story with the unique atmosphere and some stealth-elements. But this atmosphere is perfect! Is is a real creepy hell without cloying stereotypes about horned demons and beauty succubes. This game is a trip to crazy Gehenna with a lot of mythology. 10/10
  40. May 31, 2018
    10
    The design and detail on the world is amazing, it truly looks as if each small thing in this game was spent days to be designed. For a game set in hell it really does a great job. The sounds in this game are original and not just some random SFX. The game play is really creepy and disturbing how it should be!
  41. May 31, 2018
    10
    The game is sensational, outlast style with combat, I loved congratulations to the producers knew that there were only 9 people. Congratulations!
  42. Jun 24, 2018
    4
    https://youtube.com/watch?v=gS_Jv_hL9s8

    Here we go. Agony is a First person Survival Horror where you, some jerkwad, has ended up in hell and the only thing you know is that you've got to get to the "red goddess." The Game hits some good points and misses some important points too. To say anything I would say it's really just lacking polish. The First thing I noticed about
    https://youtube.com/watch?v=gS_Jv_hL9s8

    Here we go.
    Agony is a First person Survival Horror where you, some jerkwad, has ended up in hell and the only thing you know is that
    you've got to get to the "red goddess."

    The Game hits some good points and misses some important points too. To say anything I would say it's really just lacking polish.

    The First thing I noticed about the game is it's atmosphere. They were going for uncomfortable fleshy hell and they god damned nailed it.
    If I could go through all the words for gross and list them here we wouldn't have time. From the moment you touch down from the ♥♥♥♥ entrance the world is bones
    gore and just....squishy. It's as if someone took the word "Moist"
    turned the dial up to 103% and turned it into a game. You've got corridors literallymade of mawing jaws and other martyrs,as they are called,
    roaming around speaking madness. Every step through hell mushes and blechs. where ever you are, you feel that something is just waiting to rip you apart.

    Now that being said the game is plauged by liniarity. Or I've just been playing it wrong, you tell me. I feel like I've missed a lot of nooks and crannies yet
    whenever I see a way that would be the clear path I go and explore some Corner
    You wouldn't usually find only to have that progress the game and lock me out of where I was which can be frustrating if you are trying for all the collectables.
    Though they seem to only unlock dev art and such.

    Next thing mechanics. The game functions as a stealth crawl through through the layers, at least thats what it wants you to think. Your first
    encounter with an enemy, And oh god the enemies Scratch that, we are going to talk about the monsters now.

    As if straight from HP lovecrafts wet dream! Or the amnesia monster's wet dream. Pick your own flavour I don't care.
    These Things In all their unholy titular glory (((huehue)) are some of the most
    uncomfortable creatures I've ever seen. From boobzilla to mr grabby here appearance alone makes you want to avoid them, you know asides from the whole death thing

    So then why, in a "survival horror" game do i find these things as more of an inconvience then i find them scary. This is where the polish i mentioned earlier
    could really use some work. **** is probably the most frightning design by social standards and they
    introduce her very well. however immediatly after that they throw the dark mystique out the window and give you a
    full shot of her enterance. As if they missed the cardinal rule of horror, Show as little of your monster as neccisary. Except There she is in all her "ahem" Glory.

    Now Ham hands. Who is actually the monster I'm most afraid of. I dunno, he's just got so many grabby things, and i hate being touched so it's just They keep his introduction really well done. They kind of just litter him around the game before he shows up so in the back of your mind you never really know when you'll have to worry about him. They only gripe i have is his movement and creep factor is really just hurt when he moves like he forgot he had collision detection.

    But alright let's hit the mechanics now. In that aspect there's not really much to say. I don't really have much to say
    because it's been done....well. Your characters movement is a tiny bit janky but not to terrible as to ruin the game. When your character dies however you get
    a chance to not be dead sometimes and you can fly your soul around to go possess some other poor sod trapped in hell. I say sometimes though because it's
    not really clear when this ability is supposed to trigger. There's been a few times I died when I knew there was someone near by i could "Claim" yet
    it just killed me off and I had to restart.

    There is a way to level in the game but as of this point in my playing it's pretty much a useless feature. you can find
    fruits of eden to get skills like However with the way the game functions they are pretty inconsiquential...

    TL/DR
    Over all my first impression of the game is, much like metacritcs view, is mixed. It can be unnecessarily frustrating and the game tends to take the reigns from you just when your starting to get into it. I'll say give it a shot but wait till it goes on sale
    Expand
  43. Jun 21, 2018
    0
    Keep in mind before reading review
    *The dev promised a uncut version for backer and PC.
    The promise that they announce "cancel" 1 day before the game launch.* The game has good theme, but bad execution. Map design is bad, item are invisible due to lack of indication and bad item placement. And the running, oh the running. No, running away from thing that will kill you didn't make
    Keep in mind before reading review
    *The dev promised a uncut version for backer and PC.
    The promise that they announce "cancel" 1 day before the game launch.*

    The game has good theme, but bad execution.
    Map design is bad, item are invisible due to lack of indication and bad item placement.
    And the running, oh the running.
    No, running away from thing that will kill you didn't make it horror game. No matter how much you bath the thing in blood and organ. When will people realize that?

    I would has give the game 3-4 for art design, but decide to give it zero for broken promise.
    Expand
  44. Jun 26, 2018
    0
    I rented this game and returned it back same day.
    Probably one of the worst games i have ever played.
  45. Jun 7, 2018
    3
    Malo, no lo compren. Es horrible y lleno de bugs, no tiene ese terror que prometieron.
  46. Jul 5, 2018
    0
    Honestly I had wish listed this game back in 2016.. I even sent them a pic during the delay release in may.. thinking it was putting the final touches on I waited.. only to be severely dismayed by the game.

    Graphics 3/10 (literally I couldn't even tell it was a Unreal engine.. like the graphics of crysis 1 were by faaar better) Audio 3/10 (nothing to comment on here.. than literally
    Honestly I had wish listed this game back in 2016.. I even sent them a pic during the delay release in may.. thinking it was putting the final touches on I waited.. only to be severely dismayed by the game.

    Graphics 3/10 (literally I couldn't even tell it was a Unreal engine.. like the graphics of crysis 1 were by faaar better)
    Audio 3/10 (nothing to comment on here.. than literally the ground you walk on is louder than the game.. my girlfriend was sitting next to me.. and she literally was like after the first 10 mins "is this the only sound it makes"
    General Game play 1/10 (buggy, glitchy, the ai is even worse.. like at times you can be stealthy and be found no matter how you breath and other times you can run past them.. smack them with a torch and they don't know whats happening.
    Expand
  47. Aug 10, 2018
    5
    i found this game boring and i think is the worst survival horror game i ever play but its but opinion other people might find it cool
  48. Aug 16, 2018
    0
    I certainly wouldn't say this game is good by any standards or qualifications- at best it is an average "horror" walking simulator. It is obvious that the game was banking on it's "shock and awe" appeal with gore and sex, but even that has been squandered by the developers submitting to censorship.

    They (the developers) offer the paltry excuse that their publisher has deemed it
    I certainly wouldn't say this game is good by any standards or qualifications- at best it is an average "horror" walking simulator. It is obvious that the game was banking on it's "shock and awe" appeal with gore and sex, but even that has been squandered by the developers submitting to censorship.

    They (the developers) offer the paltry excuse that their publisher has deemed it necessary and that there are legal issues, as if this has come to a surprise to them. As it turns out, two parties sign a contract, any devil can tell you that. The developers obviously knew for quite some time that this disaster would unfold, but did nothing to prevent it. Their whole concept was based on the gore and sex and sadly it was all the game had to survive. Agony's sales are based on deception and purchasing this wretched, weak "game" only rewards these charlatans. Do not buy, even to refund afterwards. It is a waste of time.

    As a last note, with a cursory glance at the few positive reviews, I find it suspicious that so many parrot the same (false) generic compliments and praise. . . and so many of these accounts have just one review. . . very interesting indeed.
    Expand
Metascore
45

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 31
  2. Negative: 15 out of 31
  1. Jul 18, 2018
    55
    A really great idea for a horror game, but it simply fails to deliver. Boring gameplay, bad voice acting and a lot more.
  2. Jul 13, 2018
    40
    The agony can shock and literally enjoys gore and perversion. Underneath the peel of disgust and obscenity, it does not cover anything else than doctrinal playability, bad design decisions, bugs and boredom. You do not want to pay for such a form of suffering.
  3. Jun 20, 2018
    40
    Undercooked in all the key places, Agony is just a 10 hour trip through increasingly edgy content that isn't actually fun to play.