User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 62 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 62
  2. Negative: 5 out of 62
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 20, 2018
    9
    I never had a GameCube, so this has largely been a new experience for me. Despite the ghosts and the overall creepy aesthetic, Luigi's Mansion is not a horror game. It's more of an action/adventure game.

    The plot: Luigi wins a mansion in a contest that he didn't enter. Mario goes ahead of him to check it out. Unfortunately, the mansion's haunted, and Mario is soon captured by ghosts.
    I never had a GameCube, so this has largely been a new experience for me. Despite the ghosts and the overall creepy aesthetic, Luigi's Mansion is not a horror game. It's more of an action/adventure game.

    The plot: Luigi wins a mansion in a contest that he didn't enter. Mario goes ahead of him to check it out. Unfortunately, the mansion's haunted, and Mario is soon captured by ghosts. Thus, it's up to Luigi, armed with the ghost-sucking Poltergust 3000, to go into the mansion and save his brother.

    Gameplay involves shining a light on ghosts and then proceeding to suck them up, tug-of-war style, as you explore the mansion and do some puzzle-solving. There are the more complicated "portrait ghosts", which require some puzzle-solving to catch, alongside the more simple ghosts. I found the controls to be pretty good.

    The game oozes with charm, whether it be Luigi whistling the game's theme music or some punny names. There's also a two-player co-op mode, which I have yet to try, but looks like fun.

    Luigi's Mansion is a little on the short side, but while it lasts, the experience is worth purchasing this new version of a game that is about 17 years old.
    Expand
  2. Oct 13, 2018
    10
    This game, i´ts a "port or remake" of a old game from 17 years ago, it´s pretty good because you can now play it in a large travel, some better graphics, and the controls, are not the best, but you can play it easy, ok the problem with the critics is... It´s looks like the Critic Pages see a remake like a new game, saying this is the same blah blah blah... This is a remake no a new game,This game, i´ts a "port or remake" of a old game from 17 years ago, it´s pretty good because you can now play it in a large travel, some better graphics, and the controls, are not the best, but you can play it easy, ok the problem with the critics is... It´s looks like the Critic Pages see a remake like a new game, saying this is the same blah blah blah... This is a remake no a new game, obviously it added some new features, but only because its the same, don´t means it needs a lower score. I recommend only see user-based experience when is a remake, because the critic page will give it a different rating just because is the same. This is my opinion... Expand
  3. Oct 12, 2018
    10
    A superb port/remake of the original gamecube game, I´m not sure what critics are complaining about, the game has some new and pretty cool features, like co-op which I personally really enjoyed and the hability to use the flashlight like in Luigi´s Mansion Dark Moon... i don´t know really what else to say... go play this game NOW

    Oh, and the gallery is a lot better now
  4. Oct 20, 2018
    10
    The real Luigi's Mansion game. Dark Moon is has got nothing on the far superior original.
  5. Oct 19, 2018
    10
    Thank you Nintendo... OLD BUT GOLD. I don´t know why the complying, the game its awesome and this remake I love it. yes the graphics are not the best but 3DS is a portable console so its nice. what else do you want to add to this masterpiece ? leave it intact, this game its too much better than DARK MOON , I dont want generic ghosts and missions. This is the REAL LUIGI´S MANSION. 4 hoursThank you Nintendo... OLD BUT GOLD. I don´t know why the complying, the game its awesome and this remake I love it. yes the graphics are not the best but 3DS is a portable console so its nice. what else do you want to add to this masterpiece ? leave it intact, this game its too much better than DARK MOON , I dont want generic ghosts and missions. This is the REAL LUIGI´S MANSION. 4 hours are perfect, still fresh just like when i was a kid. THIS IS A REMAKE NOT LUIGI´S MANSION 2.5 thats why we have the Third one coming to switch.. Get this classic in your 3DS you will play it more then dark moon, trust me. Expand
  6. Nov 15, 2018
    7
    This was my first game cube game that I owned and I played the game alot having a blast. What confuses me is why release this on the 3ds and not switch? 3ds port has terrible graphics and it lost potential as a switch game. At least they added some bonus contntent for it.
  7. Oct 12, 2018
    6
    This Luigi's Mansion game is exactly like the one you just (or should have) played 17 years ago. Whereas the Luigi's Mansion game on the GameCube manages to become a very great game to collect in your average GameCube collection, this Luigi's Mansion game has missed opportunities to add more features to distinguish it from being another generic port with nothing new added and give it moreThis Luigi's Mansion game is exactly like the one you just (or should have) played 17 years ago. Whereas the Luigi's Mansion game on the GameCube manages to become a very great game to collect in your average GameCube collection, this Luigi's Mansion game has missed opportunities to add more features to distinguish it from being another generic port with nothing new added and give it more replay value. In short terms, there's hardly anything new added to the game to make it more than just Luigi's Mansion on the 3DS. Expand
  8. Nov 17, 2018
    6
    Luigi Mansion is one of my favorite games and while i love the new additions this game has to offer, and just having an updated version, the controls are just so bad its ridiculous.
    I would give it 9/10 if it werent for that.
    You can choose from sidestep to normal and both are equally bad. The game starts you off with gyro controls but you can turn that off. For some reason the
    Luigi Mansion is one of my favorite games and while i love the new additions this game has to offer, and just having an updated version, the controls are just so bad its ridiculous.
    I would give it 9/10 if it werent for that.
    You can choose from sidestep to normal and both are equally bad.
    The game starts you off with gyro controls but you can turn that off.

    For some reason the flashlight always gets stuck in the air but you can press A to tilt it down, it still makes it way harder to manuever than in the original version or Dark Moon, which both have amazing controls.
    The new Strobulb addition from Dark Moon is interesting but poorly implemented, i dont have 3 hands to play this game, i honestly dont know how i can hold the system with both hands and charge the Strobulb while turning it around me to catch the ghost, im gonna need 3-4 hands for this and for some reason it worked easily in Dark Moon. How this slipped by devs is amazing.

    Its like the they rushed this port and did not try it themselves.
    Co-op seems lazy as well but other than that its great to have Luigi Mansion back but its not on the Switch, which is also super ridiculous.

    For some reason Nintendo still makes games on the 3DS that obviously are not gonna sell that great, its like they want to profit at least as possible.
    To finish on the positive side the game has achievements and updated museum and alot more interesting gameplay menu, i actually loved that, it just could've been an easy 9 or 10 with better controls.
    Expand
  9. Oct 13, 2018
    8
    A great remake. Very nice visuals, tight controls, and cool story. If you haven't played the original, and own a 3DS, then I reccommend you get this game.
  10. Oct 12, 2018
    7
    The same game you already know but on 3ds. If you really really loved the original, or feel you missed out on a bit of history not playing it at the time, then this game will have something for you. It's a basic port with a few issues, but Luigi's Mansion still remains a charming and enjoyable game.
  11. Oct 21, 2018
    8
    This remake is awesome, and I really wish people can just enjoy it instead of hating on it just because it has some problems, but that is to be expected.
  12. Nov 9, 2018
    10
    Luigi's Mansion is the best survival horror EVER, Grezzo made an excelent game 10/10
  13. Nov 28, 2018
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Luigi´s Mansion 3DS es un buen Remake, pero tiene algunos defectos qué lo hacen un poquitín inferior al original.

    En términos de duración es un poco cortito ( 8 horas y yendo tranquilo ) al igual qué la versión de GameCube, cosa qué en Luigi´s Mansion 2 se mejoro muchísimo en este apartado, ofreciendo una historia mucho más caricaturesca, pero más larga y entretenida qué la primera entrega.

    Gráficamente el juego luce muchísimo mejor de lo qué se mostró en varios tráileres In-Game en YouTube, otro ejemplo más de qué para evaluar un juego de manera técnica tienes qué ver el juego corriendo en la consola, y no a través de vídeos. A pesar de esto, con este juego ya empieza a notarse qué la GPU de 3DS se está quedando bastante obsoleta, ya qué hay algunas bajadas de FPS en varias zonas y situaciones dónde hay mucha carga de polígonos. De todas formas, no afecta casi nada a la experiencia de juego.

    Jugablemente es superior al original ( se puede escoger la jugabilidad original o la de Luigi´s Mansion 2 ) ya qué cazar fantasmas y sobretodo los Boo y la batalla con Hércbooles ( Boolossus en Inglés ) es muchísimo más cómoda y divertida, también tienes una serie de logros para completar con lo cuál hace el juego muy re-jugable, pero la única cosa mala qué tiene es la batalla final contra el Rey Boo qué se me hizo tan fácil qué me decepcionó muchísimo, una lástima.

    Si no jugasteis el primer Luigi´s Mansion, yo recomiendo más qué juguéis primero el original, pero si lo jugasteis ya en Nintendo GameCube, este Remake lo vais a disfrutar tanto cómo yo, os lo aseguro.
    Expand
  14. Dec 10, 2018
    10
    This game on GCN & 3DS is one of the greatest Mario series off all time with only his green brother & his "L" stands for winner (NO JOKE, Nintendo confirmed it)!
  15. Oct 26, 2018
    10
    It's basically the gamecube game but updated one and with a co-op adition. An excellent game that I recommend though, specially if you never tried the Luigi Mansion games before.
  16. goj
    Nov 28, 2018
    10
    Loved this so much I picked up Dark Moon afterwards for a playthrough! I loved the GameCube version and this is an excellent remake. Now Super Mario Sunshine on Switch please ;)
  17. Dec 11, 2018
    9
    the game is really accurate to the original, which is coming from someone who hasn't either beaten the game nor played the original game. its fun but extremely hard at times. Have fun!
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 43 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 43
  2. Negative: 0 out of 43
  1. Nov 26, 2018
    70
    Short but sweet perfectly sums up Luigi's haunted quest. Very little has changed in the transition from GameCube to 3DS, except for slightly inferior visuals and way worse controls...unless using the Circle Pad Pro. With the added benefit of the attachment, Luigi's Mansion plays exceptionally well, and is an enjoyable, if easy, romp through the spooky mansion that really kicked off Luigi's gaming career.
  2. Nov 21, 2018
    80
    Luigi's Mansion 3DS brings back the old classic of the GameCube for both players that never played the original and players that played it hundreds of times. That Luigi is easily scared makes him a perfect guy to play around in a ghost mansion.
  3. Nov 9, 2018
    76
    3DS - It wasn't simple to bring a gamecube title to a portable console, and at the end of its life, but Luigi's Mansion on 3DS has something to tell on this generation of console. Some problems of the original game remain in the porting process, especially backtracking and clunky controls, but they don't ruin the experience with the game.